Celebrating God’s Goodness

As Thanksgiving approaches I’m focusing on all I have to be thankful for and how good God has been to me.

I remember years ago as I meditated on God’s Word, a verse came to mind.

“Be still, and know that I am God” (Psalm 46:10 NIV 1984)

Then suddenly another phrase popped into my head, “Be still, and know that I am good.”

Often when I’m restless or anxious it’s because deep down I’m doubting God’s goodness. That’s when my trust of God is challenged.

One of the enemy’s schemes is to try to convince me God is not good or at the very least that He is not all good.

Sometimes he does that by whispering God doesn’t love me or He doesn’t love me as much as He loves someone else. Then he points to a person who seems to be more blessed or has fewer trials than me.

One day when I was battling doubts about God’s goodness, this little poem came to me: Be still my soul and know that your God is good. He is your help wherever you go through fire and storm and flood.”

Today I am certain of God’s goodness. As proof I just have to look around at the riches I have in my life—riches that have nothing to do with material wealth.

I have a loving husband, children, grandchild, and extended family. I’m blessed with faithful friends, a dynamic church home, a fulfilling job, a meaningful writing ministry, a healed heart. I also have a God who loves me, provides for me and guides me.

Too often I keep my eyes glued to the “bad” things in my life instead of on the goodness of God and all the good He brings my way.

Yes, life is hard, but as the saying goes: “Life is hard, but God is good.”

I can proclaim enthusiastically today the saying we sometimes recite in church: “God is good…all the time. All the time…God is good.”

How about you? Do you ever doubt God’s goodness—especially during difficult times? Today ask God to open Your eyes to how good He is. Then take time to celebrate. Instead of having a lonely pity party, have a praise party with the good Lord.

To hear more about Celebrating God’s Goodness tune in to my radio show “Hearts Set Free with Elaine” on Saturday, November 17, 2012 at 8:00am EST. Go to www.wtis1110.com and press “Listen Live.”

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group. I am on staff at the Florida Christian Writers Conference.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Celebrating God’s Goodness

  1. Beth Willis Miller says:

    Love the post! God has been there all along…His mercy endures forever :)

  2. Jane Reece says:

    Elaine, your personal transparency coupled with spiritual depth never fail to pierce me. Thanks for this.

  3. Tammy Bovee says:

    Elaine,
    thank you for sharing from your heart! May God bless you this Thanksgiving! So much is broken in our world. The only way I can refresh myself is to praise God using his names and attributes and thank him for what he has done. I long for perfection. But maybe in its absence it makes me long for heaven a little more. Truly God is good. Someday we will sit down to a perfect feast. Nothing will be out of place. Until then, the gravy may be lumpy, the turkey over done, the rolls slightly flat. We can still choose to have a thankful heart.
    Thanksgiving Blessings,
    Tammy Bovee

Leave a Reply

