Christ In Me

Lately I’ve been thinking about the amazing fact that not only is Christ with me, but He is in me.

A powerful verse in the Bible about Christ in me is Galatians 2:20:

I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who love me and gave himself for me.

The saddest days of my life are when I have lost my temper or done some other mean thing, and I know that others are not seeing Christ in me. Those are times I need to apologize and ask for forgiveness for not being all Christ has called me to be instead of making excuses of “it was your behavior that forced me to act that way.” Too often I take too long to do that.

Not long ago when I was being angry at someone who had hurt me, it seemed that Christ no longer lived in me. It took correction from someone who loved me to get me back on the right course.

I remember years ago when I was first saved that I heard we have a choice—to put ourselves on the throne or to have Christ on the throne in our lives. Before I was saved, I was on the throne at all times. But even after being saved, it seems I can kick Jesus off of the throne and go back to trying to take charge in my life—of trying to rule instead of letting Christ be king.

The Bible tells me that I must deny self in order to move on with the Lord. If I refuse to deny myself—my wants, my wishes, my ways—then there will be little evidence of Christ in me.

Then he said to them all: Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross daily and follow me. Luke 9:23 NIV

As I deny myself, Christ shines through me. 

The Word not only tells us to deny ourselves but to die to ourselves.

I die daily –that is I face death every day and die to self. 1 Corinthians 15: 31 AMP

I long to have people say, “I really see Jesus in her.” Some days I fail. Too often I go back to being full of self, self-absorbed. The enemy works hard to bring me back to that place. He wants me to demand my rights and as the world says, “Look out for number one.”

When I resist cooperating with the enemy and let Christ be alive in me powerful things happen. I am able to love people who seem impossible to love. I forgive those who seem unforgivable. This is not me loving and forgiving. It is Christ in me.

I pray that in the days, weeks, months, and years ahead, Christ will be more alive in me than ever before. Only then can I change my world.

Will you join me? 

To hear more about “Christ in Me” listen to my radio show, “Hearts Set Free with Elaine” on Sunday, January 19, 2014 at 9:00am EST. Go to http://www.wtis1110.com and press “Listen Live.” Or you can listen in the archives later. 

 

 

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group. I am on staff at the Florida Christian Writers Conference.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Christ In Me

  1. Elaine, I love this post…so true…there is a song by Bebo Norman called “I hope you see Jesus” that expresses my heart …I included it in this post… http://bethwillismiller.blogspot.com/2012/05/in-what-ways-do-you-see-jesus.html

  2. What a wonderful Word today. The very thought that Christ Actually lives in us is most awesome gift. We do not have to be in control if we make the daily comittment to allow Him to direct our path.I pray people see Christ Jesus in me. Thank you for being a blessing to all who will receive.

  3. Elnora, I appreciate your comment. I am seeing lately that control is still an issue with me. And if I am trying to be in control, it shows a lack of trust. Lord, help me to trust You more. That’s how others will see Christ in me.

Leave a Reply

