Don’t Get Even

One day not long ago I resurrected anger toward an individual who had treated my husband and me badly while we were trying to help him. In the midst of my rant, my husband accused me of having a vengeful heart.

It was difficult to admit he was right. I was bitter and was engaged in passive aggressive plans to get back at this person for his evil ways.

I’ve been at that place many times in my life. And I’m so grateful the Lord sends people to speak truth to me, like my husband and others who care about me and my walk with the Lord.

Revenge—the pursuit of getting even–is a trap that the enemy sets for us to keep us from moving on after hurt and heartache. It can ruin marriages and every other kind of relationship. It robs me of peace and puts a distance between me and the Lord. It is tied in with unforgiveness, which the enemy wants me to cling to instead of holding tightly to my loving heavenly Father.

Here are powerful words from God’s word about the subject of letting go of revenge:

Repay no one evil for evil, but give thought to do what is honorable in the sight of all. If possible, so far as it depends on you, live peaceably with all. Beloved, never avenge yourselves, but leave it to the wrath of God, for it is written, “Vengeance is mine, I will repay, says the Lord.”…Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good. Romans 12:17-19 & 21 

Seeking revenge is about me trying to make things right. But what I’ve discovered is this: when I try to make things right instead of leaving the matter to God, I tend to mess things up. I need to repent every time I do this, so I can be remain free to love others the way the Lord loves me. 

I do repent of having a vengeful attitude toward this person who hurt me repeatedly and shows no remorse. Lately I’m asking how I can show love even so and even though. One way is to pray and to stop thinking and saying negative things about him.

Today I choose to believe that God will repay my husband and me for all we’ve suffered in regard to this wayward soul who has spent years resisting the Lord.

Today I choose to believe that God is able.

How about you? Is there someone in your life toward whom you have a vengeful heart? Seek to leave the matter in God’s hands believing that He will repay. Doing so will return you to a place of peace and joy.

To hear more about the subject of “Don’t Get Even” tune in to my radio show, “Hearts Set Free” on Sunday, February 16, 2014 at 9:00am EST. Go to www.wtis1110.com and press “Listen Live.” Or go to the archives on my WTIS website and listen from there: http://www.wtis1110.com/hearts-set-free/

 

 

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group. I am on staff at the Florida Christian Writers Conference.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Don’t Get Even

  1. Elaine, you are so right. There is a great sense of peace that comes from giving up our right to revenge. I love the saying, “unforgiveness is like drinking poison and waiting for the other person to die.” I’m not sure how God will repay us for our suffering – or even if He will – but the peace that comes from letting go of anger might be enough of a reward.

  2. Tammy Bovee says:

    Elaine, great meat here. The Bible is so helpful. One character who I really admire and get inspired from is Joseph who chose to forgive his brothers (Genesis 50:20). The Lord often uses situations to test what’s my heart and to refine me. Thanks for sharing your heart set free!

  3. thompsons5 says:

    Reminds me of Matthew West’s song “Forgiveness”. I’ve been here so many times too. It’s a great reminder.

Leave a Reply

