Letting Go Again

I’m at it again.

I have two loved ones in my life who are in a battle right now. At times I try to get in there and   solve the ongoing conflict between them. But the instruction that comes from the Lord is to let go of them, of the situation, of my desire to be the rescuer, the fixer of this fractured relationship. 

Just let go. Three little words, but they’re hard to obey.                 

 A number of years ago I thought of ways to know if I’ve let go. The Lord has been reminding me of them again lately.

Stop asking questions. I remember a lady who was so worried her son would commit suicide after he made suicidal statements. Finally she said she was ready to let go. One way she did this was to never again ask him about the subject of suicide. She realized her asking was not going to prevent his taking his own life. So it is with my loved ones. My interrogation is not going to prevent trauma.  

Pray rather than say. Sometimes I think my many words will bring prodigals home. Yet when I read of the story of the prodigal son in Scripture, the Father is not in town searching out his son to try to talk some sense into him. He lets go of him and waits for him to return home. Part of the waiting is praying. And it’s the praying, not the prying and prodding that will bring peace and hopefully results. 

Stop trying to make things happen. Kent Crockett in his book, The Sure Cure for Worry writes about God opening and closing doors. Sometimes I try to pry doors open myself when it comes to people’s lives, and I attempt to shove them through those doors. This doesn’t work, and one can get pretty bruised trying to push someone where they don’t want to go.

Enjoy what is. Instead of being sad over what’s missing, I can celebrate what is. Instead of mourning over how loved ones aren’t walking close to the Lord, I can celebrate that they desire a closeness with me and seek me out to spend time with them. I can love them where they’re at and believe that God is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that I ask or think. (See Ephesians 3:20)

Remember God’s in control and let Him be. It’s so freeing when I’m reminded and act on the fact that I’m not responsible for changing the hearts and minds of wayward souls.  Yes, I can pray and say only as the Lord leads, but I don’t have to be obsessed with others on the right path.

There is no need to be ashamed that you are back in the place of holding on to your plan, your fears, your anger and trying to control people and situations. God will give you the grace to let go. You will then enjoy the peace that can be yours when you’re not trying to run the universe or your little corner of it.

I’m ready to return to a place of peace and rest. 

I love the way Matthew invites me to do just that.

Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” Matthew 11:28-30 NIV

How about you? Are you, like me, back at it again–trying to control people and attempting to keep them from ruining their lives? Choose right now to let go. God will give you the grace to do it. And He’ll bring you back to trusting Him.  

To hear more about letting go again, listen to my radio show “hearts Set Free” on Sunday, February 23, 2014 at 9:00am EST. Go to www.wtis1110.com and press “listen live.” Or listen later from the archives.

 

 

 

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group. I am on staff at the Florida Christian Writers Conference.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Letting Go Again

  1. I am trusting God right now to move in a situation that involves another person. I am receiving Gods grace that is sufficient for me.

  2. Clella Camp says:

    Thanks for all of these reminders,Elaine….FCWC is soon. I am going this year. Looking forward to it. I really needed this post today. Especially remembering that God is in control. Sometimes i think I am. :-)

  3. Fran Sandin says:

    Elaine, this is a good reminder to let go. Two people in my family were at odds for years. I prayed and asked the Lord to let me live long enough to see them come to resolution, and they have! It took years of intensive praying, but God worked a miracle–and I got to witness it! He is greater than any problem or relationship difficulty.

  4. Kent Crockett says:

    Very good devotional! And I’m not just saying that because you mentioned my book. I love it when you say, “the Father is not in town searching out his son to try to talk some sense into him. He lets go of him and waits for him to return home” and “It’s so freeing when I’m reminded and act on the fact that I’m not responsible for changing the hearts and minds of wayward souls.” Good stuff! I made a copy for my files.

Leave a Reply

