Letting Go of Fear of the Future–Again

As I’ve been examining my thought life in recent days, I notice how often I am thinking fearful thoughts about the future. Here is a blog I first posted in June 16, 2010. Even though I wrote this over four years ago, the truths are ones I needed to be reminded of again. I pray that they also minister to you.

Lately as I’ve been dealing with fears, I see that many of them have to do with fear of the future. When I think of family and finances, worries about whatwillhappen in these two realmscan plague me.

When I think of politics and employment, it’sthe future of both that can cause me to get strangled by what ifs.

When I contemplate my church life and my writing life, it’sfear about the future of these two entities that can cause me to want to give up hope on bothandconsider pursuing a path of self-gratification instead.

As I pondered my battle with fear of the future, God whispered a truth to me–that these fearsgenerally don’t originate with me. He brought me back to theY2K scare where Christian groups I was a part of were in a panic about crises that would happen when the year 2000 arrived. They talked about stocking up on food and buying generators.Often they reprimanded me for doing nothing and for not joining them in being afraid.But I was convinced there was nothing to fear. Still they wanted me to “catch their fear.”

The same goes on these days with politics and finances. Christianstry to convince me Democrats are ruining the financial world and the world in general. They insist I must do something–at the very least be very afraid. Rarely do they tell meto do the thing God has called us to do.

“I urge, then, first of all, that requests, prayers, intercession and thanksgiving be made for everyone–for kings and all those in authority, that we may live peaceful and quiet lives in all godliness and holiness. This is good, and pleases God our Savior…” 2 Timothy 2:1-3

I confess I’ve sometimes succumbed to fears that orginate with others–even though I believe God is in control and will lead me through any difficulties that may arise. And yes, He may call me to do something, but out of obedience, not fear. Also, hard times can cause people to become more hungry to receive Jesus as their Savior, which is a good thing.

Now that I’m aware of this passing on of fears, I’m better able to resist it. One way is to deletecertain emails and avoid various TV and radio programs. I also change the subject or say, “Let’s pray about that.”

God wants me to stay focused on Him and not on problems in the world or in my family or church family, or at my job or in my writing life. Repeatedly He reminds me of this verse:

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future” Jeremiah 29:11 NIV.

Often I tell those who try to pass along fears that I believe God is in control, and nothing man does can change what God has planned–either for me, the body of Christ, or our nation. I remind them God has taken care of His own all these years, and He’s not going to stop because of what someone is doing in Washington or anywhere else in the world.

And I hold to what my 6-year-old granddaughter, Destiny, said to me one day, “I will not let fear ruin my life.”

Is there someone in your life that is trying to pass along fear to you? Determine to deal with the situation God’s way.

The following song reminds me that God is in control of my future.

“Already There” by Casting Crowns. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s099Omqw1_E

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group. I am on staff at the Florida Christian Writers Conference.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Letting Go of Fear of the Future–Again

  1. It is amazing how fear can creep back into our life when we feel we have overcome that aspect of our life, The enemy is the father of fear, doubt and confusion, but God has not given us the spirit of fear, but of power, love and a sound mind, Praise God for messengers of faith who He continues to use to renew our strength and remind us that we are MORE than conquerors through Jesus Christ Amen!!

    • Dear Elnora, thanks for your comment. And thank you for the reminder of that powerful verse that tells us that God has not given us a spirit of fear. So many good things happen as we learn to conquer our fears and move on in faith.

Leave a Reply

