Why Hearts Set Free?

One day when I decided to run instead of walk on my daily two-mile trek to try to stay in shape, a verse came to mind.

I run in the path of your commands, for you have set my heart free. Psalm 119:32 NIV

Ever since this verse has been a theme for a certain area of my life.  You might call that area “heart health.” No, it’s not the physical kind. It’s the health of my inner self.

At the time I was in counseling with “Freedom Ministries.” As I opened my eyes during those counseling sessions, I saw how much bondage I was in. But I also saw how far the Lord had brought me. And I discovered that His desire was to have me be completely free.

Not too long after embracing Psalm 119:32, I interviewed  Dennis Jernigan.  He had been in bondage to homosexuality, but was married and had nine children. I remembered one essential theme of our interview.  He related he was so much freer than he used to be as far as all the areas of his life, but he was not as free as he wanted to be—that freedom was a process.

That’s how I feel about my life right now. I am so much freer than I used to be. But still I have a ways to go. I am free from alcohol, drugs, cigarettes, sexual sin and other bondages of my old life. But I still struggle with eating issues, codependency, depression, negative thinking. Yet even in these areas I’m more free than I used to be.

Trouble comes when I try to convince myself I’m already completely free.  I close my eyes to how God wants to keep working in me to heal me and set me free.  Sometimes I shift the focus to trying to set others free—ie my family members.

When I keep my eyes open and focused on Him and cooperate in regards to where He wants me to go and do what He wants me to do, I move closer to the goal of complete freedom.

I don’t have to be discouraged that I’m still not completely free. Instead I can celebrate how far God has brought me on this path called “being set free.” It is a process, and even in the process I can find joy—the joy of knowing He loves me enough to help me be set free and embrace all the benefits of the cross.

Will you join me here each week as I blog about different aspects of being set free? Let’s encourage one another toward freedom in Him. Then we can live the lives He has called us to and be all He wants us to be.

Are there areas in your life where you need freedom? Bring them to the Lord and ask for His counsel. He wants to free you.  And along the way, let’s celebrate the freedom we have in Christ.

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why Hearts Set Free?

  1. Pauline says:

    Thanks for that reminder, Elaine. The cross is the focal point.

Leave a Reply

