Freedom from Fear

     Knee-deep in weeds, I picked the raspberries, eating almost as many as I put into the bowl. Suddenly, out of the corner of my eye, I saw something move. A giant black and yellow spider crept across its web a mere two feet away.

I dropped to the ground, and raspberries flew in every direction. What if it gets me? I thought as I crouched down and peered through the weeds. I imagined if it saw me it would somehow grab me and torture me in its sticky web. When I thought the spider wasn’t looking, I crept out of the weeds, leaving behind all those luscious berries.

That was so many years ago, but this memory came back to mind as I tried to help my six-year-old granddaughter deal with her terror over a wasp that got into the house recently. Like a brave grandma, I saved the day with the help of a can of flying insect spray.

In the midst of her screaming and frantic running around the kitchen, I confess I reprimanded Destiny for getting so scared. The grown-up forgetful side of me even pretended I did not now and never did let such things frighten me to that extent. But then I remembered those spiders.  

Even as an adult, I still have fears as exaggerated as my childhood fear of spiders. Too often, instead of trusting God, I become immobilized, losing the blessings God wants to give me. Yet these current-day situations I fear have no more power over me than I choose to give them.  

Over the years I’ve tried to free myself from adult fears–like fear of failure, fear of success, fear of being misunderstood. It doesn’t work. The good news is God has given me a solution to my battle with fears.

“I sought the LORD, and he answered me; he delivered me from all my fears” (Psalm 34:4 NIV).

It doesn’t say “a few of my fears” or “most of my fears.” It says “all my fears.” Just as I’ve longed to help my children and my grandchild overcome fears, God, my Father, wants to do just that for me. When I feel it happening–the fears just melting away–I am filled with gratitude.   

I’m going to keep seeking Him–every time I spot a “spider” that seems overwhelmingly scary. 

And I’m praying for faith to keep believing He will answer.

What fear has you backing off from goals and blessings? Seek God. He wants to free you.

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Freedom from Fear

  1. John Brewer says:

    In the south the Granddaddy Longlegs Spider is prevalent. When we were children we used to scoop them off of bushes and let them walk all over us. This of course would creep out many but for those of us brave enough or crazy enough it was quite a thrill. As it turns out the Granddaddy Longlegs is one of the most poisonous spiders around. However, it has such small mandibles that it cannot bite a person. The devil (satan, lucifer, etc.) is like that. He is poisonous and creepy but his bite carries no sting if you are under the protection of the blood of the Lamb of God. He may try to walk on you and creep you out and make you fearful of the poison (sin) he carries but faith casts out fear and in the power of Jesus you can just flick him off and send him back to the bushes.

  2. Thanks for that, Elaine. A great reminder!

  3. Clellla Camp says:

    Thanks Elaine…Good post and I seem to still forget that he says ‘ALL’ when he makes that promise. I love the idea of “fear of success” Isn’t it true sometimes?
    Clella

  4. Mary Ardis says:

    Spiders creating fine webs across the ceilings of my home, without my even knowing they were there, recently saved my ceilings from having to be repainted after a bad grease fire. The webs caught all the soot in them which I gently spun like cotton candy onto my magnetic fan duster. Sometimes the very things we fear, can work for good if we just remember Romans 8:28. Your spider story was a great reminder to me to not forget all my fearful days and nights before I learned to surrender all my fears to Him. You reminded me how important it is to share the good news with those who have not yet learned to do this. Thank you for sharing. Mary Ardis – Spanish Fort AL

Leave a Reply

