Saying “No” Sets Two People Free

The words came out of the blue.

“Thank you for saying ‘no’ and having me do that for myself,” she said.  “I did it, and I’m proud of myself.”

She beamed with excitement at having faced a fear and mustering up the courage to do the task anyway.

This “thank you” came from the same person who had a major fit when I recently refused to do this task for her–one that was her responsibility and which she was capable of doing herself.  She proclaimed at the time she was too afraid to do it. 

At that moment I luxuriated in this prize–gratitude. I felt a deep satisfaction in knowing I had let this person grow a little more mature, a little more independent.  

What hit me the hardest at that moment was how my “no” had not only set me free from false responsibility but had also set this loved one free from a false dependency–a belief that she could not accomplish this task–that she must call on me to complete it for her.

My weakness of saying “yes” too often had made her weaker. 

I thought of how my not saying “no” often enough had hurt her self-esteeem. It pained me to realize I sometimes said “yes” out of pride believing she wasn’t as competent as me.

But then I thought, “How does a person become competent?” Certainly not by someone else doing things for them.

Once again–as I’ve seen many times in recent years–I saw that what I defined as helping was really hindering. When I think of this “hindering rather than helping” concept, I recall working on the orthopedic ward in an Illinois hospital years ago. 

Often after surgery patients would want me to do all variety of tasks for them. But I was warned repeatedly by physical therapists, coworkers and charge nurses: “You have to let them do things for themselves. It’s the only way they’re going to become strong again.”

How tempted I was to believe their “I just can’t” protests. At times I was fooled into believing that giving in was being kind and that my coworkers were being harsh. But when I gave in I was hurting the patient and the nurse/patient relationship. 

That’s what I’ve done too often in other relationships. Instead of helping others, I’ve hurt them. And I’ve hurt myself because when I’m in a helping/hindering relationship, it can never be the quality relationship God has in mind.

When I’m giving in to this wrong kind of help, I’m too often keeping people from seeking God for help. He, not me, is to be their refuge, strength, and help.

“God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble.” Psalm 46:1 NIV

Years ago a counselor told me that if I allow God to set me free, others would be set free in the process. In that “thank you” moment days ago, I realized how true that is.

Are you ready to be set free from this hindering kind of help? Are you ready to believe that two people will be set free in the process?

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Saying “No” Sets Two People Free

  1. Great thoughts, Elaine.

  2. Anne Garris says:

    You are so right. I felt terrible about resigning from the responsibility of being publicity chairman for my Officers Wives group, but knew I was over extended. Two days later, a newcomer to the area came to my door to “get the information on being publicity chairman.” She was so excited and thrilled over this chance to fit in right away. What if I had continued to do this burdensome task which was so wanted by someone else?
    keep up the good work, Elaine. God bless……….Anne g.

  3. Mary Ardis says:

    No is the hardest word in my vocabulary to say, especially to the ones I love the most but you are so right about pride being at the root of this problem for me. Over the years I have, with God’s help, been able to get it out of my mouth more often and nothing bad happens to the ones I love or to me. In fact, often amazing things happen because I did say no. Keep blogging away our fears. Mary A.

Leave a Reply

