Freedom from Being Grieved Beyond Grace

Recently I contemplated a loss in my life having to do with one of my children. I was surprised to discover that in a certain aspect of this loss, there was still unfinished business. These words  came to mind as I asked God to show me what was going on in my soul.  

 You are grieved beyond grace.

As I prayed for wisdom, I felt those words meant that because I have not fully dealt with my grief, I have not been able to fully receive His grace and then pass it along in an extravagant way (God’s way) to others–including my daughter.  

 This truth has been echoing in my mind ever since: Not grieving fully over our losses can do much damage to our spiritual lives.

I have experienced God’s grace and comfort being poured out on me in other areas of my life where I’ve allowed myself to grieve fully ie. over my childhood losses. The following verse has played out in my life as God has comforted me and then used me to comfort those who have gone through difficult childhoods and other hardships. But I want this verse to permeate every aspect of this more recent sense of loss that is troubling my soul.

 Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God. 1 Corinthians 1:4 NIV

 In the Beatitudes it says, “Blessed are those who mourn, for they will be comforted” (Matthew 5:4 NIV).  Comforting is God’s part, but the first half of the verse is my part.  Although I mourn for moments at a time, I often avoid mourning in the way I believe God wants me to—in His presence with a heart open to receive His comfort. I confess that too often I’ve turned to comforts this world offers such as things to be eaten, bought, watched or listened to. At times I have not done well at receiving comfort directly from God, from His Word, or from His people.

And so now my heart is open. I am ready and willing to receive all the grace—in the form of comfort—that God has for me. I am willing to mourn my loss in any way that God directs.

One of these days by faith I believe I will proclaim over this situation that has caused such grief in my heart—grief I keep trying to bury and not deal with:

 You have turned my mourning into dancing for me; You have put off my sackcloth and girded me with gladness.  Psalm 30:11 AMP

 How about you? Is there an area of your life where you are grieved beyond receiving grace from God and extending it to others? Bring your grief to God, and He will generously give You grace in return.

 Check out the following link which has the words to “He Giveth More Grace” by Annie Johnson Flint, who also suffered loss in her life (see her bio there). She allowed God to comfort her, and all these many years later her words are such a comfort to many.

http://ser1vant.tripod.com/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderfiles/anniejohnsonflint.pdf

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Freedom from Being Grieved Beyond Grace

  1. K!Mberly says:

    YES YES YES. i’ve had this conversation before. with others. with God. Thanks for sharing your heart Elaine. You’re a wonderful writer and I’m glad to be linked up to be reading what you have to say. Here in Asia, the method for comforting others is to say something like, “Let’s not cry over spilled milk.” (what someone said to a friend of mine at the wake of her father!)

    The last time I had this conversation was last month with a dear friend who lost a premature baby a month after her shotgun wedding. It was the 5th anniversary of the baby’s only week on earth, and she hadn’t even recalled it. A blocked memory in a sense. “Let’s take a walk on the beach and remember her.” I suggested. Knowing that she has admitted not really dealing with her grief these years back. She gave me a hug and with tears thanked me for telling her to demand that the hospital staff allow she and her husband to hold the baby in the hospital before taking it to the crematorium. I’m still waiting for the day we can take that walk.

  2. Julie says:

    I’m working on something right now that takes a lot of grace. I appreciate your words to help me focus more on His grace.

  3. Diane says:

    I loved the insight that we must grieve the right way before God–not on our own seeking solace from comforts of this world. Trying to rush through this process, I feel, just prolongs the grieving and we are unable to move on. After grieving before God and surrendering my pain to Him, I have found the peace and comfort that only He can provide. Thank you so much for this inspirational message.

  4. Mary Ardis says:

    What you wrote about God’s part is to comfort, my part is to mourn seemed to speak directly to me. Thank you for this reminder. I do seem to cry less these days and I know that is mainly because of the Joy He has given me to replace the sadness when I walked without Him. When I do cry, really cry out my heart to him, I do feel His comfort that is beyond description. Thank you for writing out your heart for Him and for me!

Leave a Reply

