Freedom from Delusions

A number of years ago a troubled woman whom I knew well called and asked if I would drive a half hour away to her doctor’s office to give him a check for her last office visit.

“Why can’t you send it throught the mail?” I asked.

“Because the mailman is stealing my mail.”

She had read that a mailman in another state had stolen some mail, and had developed some delusional thinking and was convinced her mailman was stealing hers.

Recently as I was thinking about delusions, I realized I have them too. My dictionary says a delusion is “a false belief or opinion.”

When I look at my Christian life, I see how these false beliefs get in the way of a close relationship with God and also affect my joy level. Here are some delusions I’ve battled in my mind over the years: 

“If God really loved me, bad things wouldn’t happen to me.”

“Life is supposed to be easy. If it’s hard, I must be doing something wrong and God is punishing me.”

“I have to be perfect in order for God to love me.”

“God loves her more than He loves me.”

“The reason God won’t answer my prayer is because He doesn’t love or care about me.”

Often it seems the source of these thoughts is from the enemy who wants to tell me lies about God’s love and power. But when I hold onto them and start believing them, that’s when I get in trouble in my soul.

Sometimes I don’t even realize I’m entertaining these lies or false beliefs. One sign that they’re in my mind is that I start to put a distance between me and God.

God has given me in His word a way to deal with delusions:

“Strip yourselves of your former nature [put off and discard your old unrenewed self] which characterized your previous manner of life and becomes corrupt through lusts and desires that spring from delusion;

And be constantly renewed in the spirit of your mind [having a fresh mental and spiritual attitude].

And put on the new nature (the regenerate self) created in God’s image, [Godlike] in true righteousness and holiness.

Therefore, rejecting all falsity and being done with it…” Ephesians 4:22-25 AMP

Staying in God’s Word helps me get to know God. The more I know Him, the more I know He loves me and wants the best for me.

Regularly, I go to God and ask Him to expose any way I am being deceived and any false beliefs that have come back into my thinking. He’s faithful to do that and bring me truth to replace lies.

More and more over the years I am celebrating this verse:

“And you will know the Truth and the Truth will set you free.” John 16:32

What about you? Are you holding onto delusions? If you go to God and ask Him to expose them, He will. Then He’ll give you His truth to replace false beliefs. What joy there is in exchanging delusions for His truth.

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Freedom from Delusions

  1. Julie says:

    Thanks again for the words filled with truth!

  2. Diane says:

    I definitely agree the source of our delusions are from the enemy. When we read the Word it is so clear that God loves us and wants the best for us. Then the enemy starts filling us with negative thoughts–which are really delusions. I will now try to think of these negative thoughts as delusions. Thank you, Elaine, for your insight and reference to scripture that is so powerful and meaningful.

  3. Cloe says:

    I needed your blog today…. Rethinking what you have said….should get down in my heart and spirit… the truth…with the addition of my own additional study and living more in the Word…
    Thanks, Elaine….you hit nails on the head…!

  4. Julie Coveney says:

    Thanks Elaine,
    I needed to read this today. Asking God to show us our delusions and replace them with His truth is wonderful. Thank you again!

Leave a Reply

