I Love The Word “Restore.”

Lately I’ve been meditating on the word “restore.”

Here are some synonyms for the word: reinstate, re-establish, bring back, return, refurbish, renovate, repair, rebuild, fix.  Just reading them lifts my spirit.  

I think of the restoration to health I’ve experienced after being sick for long periods and times of celebrating the return to health of my children and grandchild, especially after life-threatening illnesses.  

I recall relationships restored. Not long ago a former friend whom I’d had a falling out with years ago,  came back into my life in a miraculous way, and we were reconciled.

I think of the countless times God’s resurrection power has restored my love for my husband when it seemed I couldn’t go on in our marriage because of how he had sinned against me. It seems that same restoration has worked in his heart when I have not loved him as Jesus would.

I think of prodigals I know who have come home.

There comes to mind restoring of treasures I’ve lost–like lost journals or a lost pet. What elation I felt back in 1993 when our dog, Buck, came running back to us after jumping out of our van during a trip to Alaska and taking off full speed into the woods.   

Restoration also causes me to remember the times things were repaired or renovated in our home.

I marvel at the scores of times God has restored my peace when I’ve felt overwhelmed with fears.

When I ponder the word “restore,” three verses from Scripture stand out. I have prayed these often and experienced God answering those prayers. 

He makes me lie down in [fresh, tender] green pastures; He leads me beside the still and restful waters. He restores my soul.  Psalm 23:2-3 AMP

Restore to me the joy of Your salvation and uphold me with a willing spirit. Psalm 51:12

And I will restore or replace for you the years that the locust has eaten…Joel 2:25

With Christmas coming, God is reminding me Christ’s coming to this earth was all about restoration.

It was God [personally present] in Christ, reconciling and restoring the world to favor with Himself, not counting up and holding against [men] their trespasses [but cancelling them] and committing to us the message of reconciliation (of the restoration of favor). 2 Corinthians 5:19

Too often I take for granted the idea of reconciliation with God—that God desired to restore favor with us—with me. He didn’t have to do that—just as friends I’ve hurt badly don’t have to want to be friends with me anymore. But God mercifully chose this. And even if I can’t find one other thing on this earth to be grateful for on any given day, this truth is something for which I can be eternally grateful.

Not only did God restore His favor with me, but He also took me when I was dead and restored me to life. Wow!

Thus it is written, The first man Adam became a living being (an individual personality); the last Adam (Christ) became a life-giving Spirit [restoring the dead to life]. 1 Corinthians 15:45

 During this holiday season and beyond, I am determined to continue to celebrate the word “restore” and how it has impacted my life.  God is showing me restoration is an ongoing process–that He’s not finished restoring. There are still hurts to be healed and lies to be eradicated from my soul.

My goal is to stop resisting and to remain completely committed to this restoration process. What joy there is in knowing God is more committed to the process than I ever could be.

How about you? Are you willing to embrace the word “restore” and all the promises connected to it? Are you ready to commit to the process of allowing God to completely restore in your life all that needs restoration?

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Love The Word “Restore.”

  1. Mary Ardis says:

    Every day He restores my weary soul with His promises that I find in His word. Thank you for reminding me to be grateful always for the greatest restoration project ever – the one that was done on Calvary for us all! May He restore the true meaning of Christmas in all our hearts…God Bless You, Elaine!

Leave a Reply

