Guaranteed Peace

Recently someone lashed out at me in a mean way. Cruel words led me to cry, which I don’t often do.

Despite my tears, I felt minimal anger toward this person, and there was no return of bitterness–something I had had in our relationship for years before God healed me–and us. 

As I drove away from this individual’s home, there was a voice on the Christian radio station talking about peace.

“Did you know that God guarantees you peace?” she said.

The speaker quoted this Bible verse:

“Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives…” (John 14:27 NIV)

A song came to my mind, and shortly after she talked about the same song which gives a message of: the world didn’t give us the peace Jesus gives, and the world cannot steal it from us.  

She also added, “The things the world gives can be taken away.”

I thought of money, fame, possessions, jobs.

Ever since that day, I’ve been contemplating God’s peace and what a wonder it is.

One new thought that came to me is this: Jesus entered the world with peace proclaimed and He left it speaking of peace.

When Jesus was born the angels did the peace proclamation. Some people say the peace they offered automatically went to everyone, but in the Scripture it says:

“Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace to men, on whom his favor rests” (Luke 2:14)

In the Amplified Bible the verse reads:

…on earth peace among men with whom He is well pleased [men of goodwill, of His favor].

 So it seems we experience God’s peace as we are in God’s favor.

The first step in my life to being in God’s favor was to receive Jesus as my Savior.

And then I experience peace as I walk out the Christian life,  obeying His commands. How often peace flees when I go back to doing my own thing–living life my way instead of His.

So the angels proclaimed You can have peace through Emmanuel–God with us. Then when Jesus was leaving the earth, He promised, “I’m not taking this peace with me, but I’m leaving it with you.”

The second part of the verse in John struck me today. There Jesus says,

“Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid” John 14:27.

 Jesus gives us a choice here. You can either receive the peace I offer you, or you can choose to let your hearts be troubled and give in to fear.

I repent of all the times I’ve chosen a troubled heart and fear.

But that day even in the midst of the conflict with a loved one when Satan was whispering fear to me: “This altercation is going to ruin this relationship,” my heart chose the peace Jesus gives. 

I want to do that more and more–to embrace daily, moment by moment His guaranteed peace.

How about you? Do you know the peace that comes from making things right with God and embracing Jesus as your Savior? Have you experienced the peace that comes from living life God’s way, from letting go of fear and trusting that He is control? The good news is–even if you don’t have His peace right this moment He’s offering it to you. Why not receive it fully during the Christmas season?

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Guaranteed Peace

  1. Julie says:

    Thank you for the reminder especially now here at Christmas.

Leave a Reply

