Freedom From Wanting to Know it All

Recently I received as part of an email some wise words that proclaimed this truth: Wanting to know it all is based in pride. I never thought of it that way. As I meditated on those words, I realized over the years I’ve tended to ask God “why” often. At times I’ve wanted or even demanded He explain my difficulties or happenings in the world more clearly to me.

I’ve been reading lately in the Bible about Mary, the mother of Jesus and Joseph in the Old Testament. Neither one of them seemed to have my problem of demanding explanations from God. Of Mary the Word says:

Mary treasured up all these things and pondered them in her heart. Luke 2:19 NIV

Joseph had such an excellent attitude that while he was in prison for a crime he didn’t commit the warden put him in charge of the other prisoners. Nowhere is there a hint of my “Explain it all to me, God!” demand. Yet even in prison Joseph thrived:

But while Joseph was there in prison the LORD was with him; he showed him kindness and granted him favor in the eyes of the prison warden…the LORD was with Joseph and gave him success in whatever he did. Genesis 39:20,21 &23

My wanting to have God explain everything or feeling I must explain God shows a lack of trust. I’m getting better as I remember what a lady told me a number of years ago. “It’s better not to ask, ‘Why?’ Instead ask God, ‘What do You want me to do next?’ He has been faithful to answer that second question.  

After my daughter went through a traumatic event in her life and battled depression, she announced one day, “My problem is I keep trying to explain God.” That’s when I first realized I too had her problem. What she said led me to write the following poem. 

When I Can’t Explain

why is it

when I can’t explain God

i complain about him,

abstain from him,

blame my pain on him,

disdain him

or chain him

to my feeble guesses

at why he does what he does

and allows what he allows?

today in the midst of

this unsolvable dilemma

i choose to refuse

to try to explain, understand,

figure out or solve him

like he’s a puzzle or an equation.

instead i praise him

and raise him

to where he truly is—

and who he truly is—

GOD MOST HIGH

who is so far above me

and yet he loves me.

there’s no explaining that.

How about you? Do you want to know it all and have God explain to you exactly why He’s doing what He’s doing in your life or in the lives of your loved ones? Today are you willing to humble yourself and trust God’s love enough to let go of the whys and just ask, “What’s next, Lord?”

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Freedom From Wanting to Know it All

  1. Anne Garris says:

    Elaine, I especially like this poem. And you are so right.

    At Christmas, my grandson gave me a framed copy of the poem I wrote about my picture during that poetry class we took together and I am so pleased. Now to find a place to hang it!!

    One of these days I’m going to make it back to the writer’s group. The Thursday mornin Bible study has been changing so rapidly that I haven’t been able to leave it these last months. Miss you all. God bless……….Anne

  2. Jeff Hinrichs says:

    Elaine, I always enjoy what you write. This week was awesome.

    Jeff Hinrichs

  3. I want to ‘second’ Anne Garris on your poem, Elaine. Beautiful. And, hello Anne.

  4. Julie says:

    Thanks, Elaine…I could apply this right now in my life.

Leave a Reply

