The Satisfied Soul

“Why can’t you be satisfied with what you have?” I asked my 7-year-old granddaughter, Destiny.

She pleaded that day for yet another store-bought item to entertain herself, something she felt convinced would profoundly enhance her life.

As I said those words, it seemed I heard the Lord whisper: “Elaine, why can’t you be satisfied with what you have?”

Lately I don’t ask my heavenly parent for material things, but like my granddaughter, I too many times communicate “Yes, I have these blessings, but Lord, what about…?” And I plead for more.

Not long ago I reread from my journal some notes from my pastor’s sermon “One Month to Live—Living a No-Regrets Life.” One section struck me:

“The more you love, the more satisfied you become. The more you give in to lust, the less satisfied you become. Lust is not willing to suffer. It’s all about the self.”

Usually I connected sexual matters to the word lust. Or lust for power. But after hearing what he said, I realized I’ve battled lusts. One is the lust to have loved ones walk closely with the Lord.

That may not seem like a bad thing, but as I reflect on what my pastor said, I see my motives at times have been selfish– to make my life better.

I looked up the word lust—“to have an intense desire or need; crave.”

My thesaurus said “yearn, long for, hunger for, ache for, covet.” 

I’ve experienced all of that when praying for prodigals. Certainly it can’t be wrong to desire that loved ones return to or embrace the Lord. But is it right when it’s for my sake and not for God’s or theirs? And when the desire becomes too intense, it can block out love for them and even love for God. When it reaches the point of obsession, it can cause me to believe God doesn’t love me because my prodigals have not yet come home.

When I concentrate on this lust, I fail to focus on loving God, which is lived out by obeying Him. I can get too busy with pleads of, “Give me what I want, God—what I need. Give it to me now; I’m tired of waiting.” The underlying issue is, “I can’t be satisfied until I get what I want.”  

Maturity as a Christian is revealed when I let go of lusts and concentrate on loving God and believing He loves me even if He doesn’t give me what I think I so desperately need.  When I do that, satisfaction enters my soul.

When I think of a satisfied soul, Matthew 5:6 comes to mind.

Blessed and fortunate and happy and spiritually prosperous…are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness (uprightness and right standing with God) for they shall be completely satisfied! NIV

As I read it today, I notice once again that the verse says I’m supposed to be dealing with my own and not others uprightness and right standing with God.

When the cry of my heart is “God, make me righteous and make me right with You,” instead of “Give me what I think is right,” I know God is pleased.

At this moment I sense God’s great love for me and His desire to continue to transform me.  As I embrace the wonder of that, I feel joyful. I feel peaceful. I feel satisfied.

What about you? Are you satisfied with what you have?  Embrace Matthew 5:6 for satisfaction guaranteed.

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Satisfied Soul

  1. Thank you so much for this! It is so true!!!!!! Blessings, Peace Light and Love to you!!!!
    that a grateful attitude has it’s own word….gratitude…. shows too that at one time this was the most important thing…I pray we are returning to that!

  2. Jane Reece says:

    Right on, preach it, sista! You ALWAYS minister to me at just the appropriate moment. Thanks for your Kingdom work; it makes a difference.

  3. Christine says:

    A Great reminder!

  4. CLELLA says:

    Well I am satisfied (most of the time) but I share your concern for the prodigals…and I hadn’t thought that perhaps it was selfish concern, but when I examine my motives, perhaps it is partly for me that my life might be easier and I would have no concerns.
    Thanks for sharing this post and causing me to examine my life again. Clella

Leave a Reply

