God Is My Refuge

One day in the prayer room at church I read Psalm 5:11.

“But let all who take refuge in you be glad; let them ever sing for joy.”

On the wall hung some framed calligraphy with the same verse from a different version of the Bible. Instead of “refuge,” the word there was “trust.” 

“But let all that put their trust in thee rejoice…” KJV 

I had never put the two words together before. But it made sense.  Signs I used to see in windows which  proclaimed a house a “safe home” came to mind. One could run there and take refuge if there was a threat of danger. The people in that house could be trusted. 

The word refuge makes me think of refugees who seek a safe haven during times of war. 

How often I’ve said, “I trust the Lord.” Yet I’ve repeatedly failed to seek refuge in Him.

Instead of turning to the Word, prayer, or God’s promises, I’ve sought refuge in the things of the world such as food, fun, frivolous spending, foolish TV programs, religion, worldly wisdom. And the list goes on.  It grieves me to think of all I’ve missed by choosing too many times the useless sources of refuge this world offers rather than the refuge of the Lord.

The bottom line is that if I fail to seek refuge in the Lord, it shows at that moment I’m not trusting Him.  

 Today I looked up “refuge” in the dictionary:  1. Shelter or protection from danger or distress. 2. A place that provides shelter or protection, 3. Something to which one has recourse in difficulty.

And the Thesaurus: safe haven, sanctuary, shelter, protection, place of safety, asylum, harbor, retreat.

God is all of that to me! Wow.

Then I looked up more verses:

…blessed is the man who takes refuge in him.… Psalm 34:8 NIV

God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble. Psalm 46:1 NIV 

Trust in, lean on, rely on, and have confidence in Him at all times, you people; pour out your hearts before Him. God is a refuge for us (a fortress and a high tower). Selah [pause and calmly think of that]! Psalm 62:8 AMP 

After reading these verses, I feel encouraged to be reminded that the Lord promises to be my refuge.  Over and over He invites me to trust Him enough to allow Him to shelter me. 

At this moment He’s whispering, “I am your refuge—right here, right now. You can trust Me.”  I feel blessed–and safe. 

How about you? Are you quick to take refuge in the Lord? Or do you prefer to turn to things of this world? Today choose to take refuge in Him—to trust Him with all that you have and all that you are. Then celebrate the promise that He’ll always be available to be your refuge, your shelter, your safe haven.

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to God Is My Refuge

  1. Jane Reece says:

    This week I questioned myself, “Are you leaning on The Everlasting Arms or are you having a tug of war with them?” I appreciate your blogs, Elaine.

  2. CLELLA says:

    thanks Elaine. This is VBS week at out congregation and yes I am still helping, but I will need to find refuge in God. It isn’t always big things, sometimes the smaller issues of life are the ones we attempt alone(without finding our safe place in Him.) Blessings Clella

  3. Kevin J says:

    This blog is like a deep pool of water in the middle of a thick, silent forest of trees. Thank you for this encouraging and refreshing post!

Leave a Reply

