The High Places

A few days ago I rode in our rental car with my husband, Steve, as he drove up Kingsbury Grade traveling from Carson Valley to Lake Tahoe.

Queasiness plaqued me as we ascended and I looked from the heights down to the towns of Minden and Gardnerville—towns we’ve been considering moving to. I felt certain I could never live in either of those towns if I had to travel what seemed like a treacherous highway to get to Lake Tahoe. 

I admit it. Being in high places makes me uneasy and at times on the verge of panic. Once again my stomach danced around in my abdomen on the sharp mountain curves. I felt dizzy and off-balanced–unsure of where to keep my eyes as the horizon kept changing.

“Just keep your eyes on the road in front of you,” said Steve. “If you stop looking down at how high up we are, it won’t be so hard.”

Then he questioned me, “What are you so afraid of?”

Part of my problem was car sickness, but fear also roared inside me.

“My fear is I’ll end up over the edge—that I’ll die in a crash from being so high up on this mountain road.”

“Don’t you trust God?” he asked.

When he asked that, I thought of the “high places” in my spiritual life when it seemed God has asked me to go higher than I’ve felt comfortable with. 

Sometimes it seemed impossible to trust God, and I just wanted to stay in the low lands. But as I obeyed, I felt the same sense of uneasiness I did on mountain roads. My whole being insisted, “This is just too high up.” But in the end persistence brought victory.   

After I arrived at our hotel in South Lake Tahoe, verses came to mind about dealing with high places. I looked them up and wrote them in my journal.

He makes my feet like hind’s feet [able to stand firmly or make progress on the dangerous heights of testing and trouble]; He sets me securely upon my high places. Psalm 18:33 AMP

He makes my feet like the hinds’ [firm and able]; He sets me secure and confident upon the heights. 2 Samuel 22:34

The Lord God is my Strength, my personal bravery, and my invincible army; He makes my feet like hind’s feet and will make me to walk [not to stand still in terror, but to walk] and make [spiritual] progress upon my high places [of trouble, suffering, or responsibility]! Habakkuk 3:19

We drove up the same mountain road the next day, and I found it easier. I did what Steve suggested and kept my eyes on the road ahead instead of focusing on how high up we were.

I’m determined to do the same in my spiritual life.

Trusting God on mountain roads and on high places He puts me in is a process I embrace.  My goal is to be secure and confident in Him wherever He directs me. The end result is glory for Him and spiritual growth for me.

What about you? Are you afraid of the “high places” in your spiritual life? Do you panic when God moves you out of your comfort zone? Trust Him today on the heights He has brought you to. Then you’ll grow and grow closer to Him.

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The High Places

  1. Monica A. says:

    Lol oh Elaine…I don’t do high places at all and I have a fear of heights and I lose my balance and equilibrium and driving up to the mountains makes me a little bit goofy too. I love the passage you wrote and I remember Hannah Hurnard’s book, Feet on Hind’s Places, such an awesome book! I’d rather have my feet firmly on the ground but I don’t have any problems being very high up in the Spirit…the vantage point from that place is so awesome and my perspective is made clear when the Lord raises me high above the principalities and all the trappings of every day life. God is good.

  2. Jane Reece says:

    Woohoo! If did not know that psychics were of the devil, I’d believe you are one! Reason: God so speaks to me at my point of need through your blogs that is becoming uproaringly funny. Leaves me with the joy of the Lord. My life’s lesson right now is to do 2 words, “Trust God.” Many thanks (again) for being so sensitive to His spirit and writing so beautifully.

Leave a Reply

