The Kind of “Whatever” God Loves

“Whatever,” my 7-year-old granddaughter sputtered with all the sarcasm and drama of a teenager.

This was after I corrected her behavior and attempted to pass along some wisdom.

Her saying the word, “whatever” with that sassy teenage tone got to me. It seemed more offensive than if she hurled a string of swear words my way. 

If I had finished the sentence that went along with her attitude that day it would have been, “Whatever you say means nothing to me.”  

We talked about why that word and the attitude behind it were so wrong. She hasn’t said it since.

Recently I searched on the Internet for something about “whatever.”

One site described it this way:

 “An exclamatory sentence with a sort of summarizing or dismissive force, avoiding further explicitness.’Whatever!’ Note the tone!”

As I ponder the use of this word which has become popular over recent years, I think of how I’ve sometimes had that “whatever” attitude toward the Lord.

I read His Word, and then do whatever I want to do.

I listen to a sermon on Sunday morning that’s filled with truth, and then throughout the week act out the opposite from what I heard.

God sends someone with a word of correction for me, and instead of saying, “thank you, friend” and “thank You, Lord,” I reject it and walk away muttering words that match the tone of “whatever.” 

Although I may not utter the word to the Lord, my soul can have that same sassy “whatever” mind-set toward what God is attempting to communicate to me.  

My heart’s desire is to rid my life of that “whatever” stance toward God.

Instead I want to be like Jesus who had a different kind of “whatever” attitude.

Whatever You want me to do, Father, I will do.

John 5:30 expresses it beautifully:

I do not seek or consult my own will [I have no desire to do what is pleasing to Myself, My own aim, My own purpose], but only the will and pleasure of the Father who sent me. (AMP)

Another verse that displays the splendor of this holy “whatever” is Matthew 26:39

…nevertheless, not what I will [what I desire], but as You will and desire.

I have a long way to go before I attain such a servant’s heart. The good news is that as I present my willing heart to God, He does whatever it takes to bring me to that place.

Lord, make me willing to embrace a pure “whatever” attitude toward You and Your Word.

How about you? What kind of “whatever” attitude toward God do you have? Is it the one that dismisses Him when He attempts to speak to your heart with an instruction or correction? Or the Jesus kind?

Today will you dare to say to God “Whatever you want me to do, I am willing?” If you can reach that point, God can use you to make a life-changing impact in this world.

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Kind of “Whatever” God Loves

  1. Jane Reece says:

    On Saturday nights I look forward to what you have to teach me on Sunday morning. To this blog, I say “Ouch!” The truth hurts, but the truth sets us free; I yearn to be free, but the price is my willingness to endure the refiner’s fire. Thanks for your piercing teaching!

    • Anne Garris says:

      Your granddaughter can’t possibly be 7!!! Seems like just a few years ago.

      At my house, they match, “whatever” with “sorry about that,” with no hint of sorrow whatsoever.

      You did a good job of turning this teen-age (or lower, evidently) habit back on us adults. Good job. God bless, Anne Garris

  2. Julie says:

    Good teaching! I pray I will be willing to whatever.

Leave a Reply

