Embracing God’s Will

Years ago when I first heard of Dr. James Dobson of Focus on the Family, I remember he spoke often of two kinds of children: the strong-willed child and the compliant child.

In looking up the word strong-willed recently, here is the definition I found: strong-minded, obstinate, stubborn, firm, independent, uncompromising, unbending, defiant.

Another definition said “determined to do something that you want to do, even if others do not want you to do it.”

For compliant I found: manageable, capable of being controlled, submissive, conformable, willing, obedient, nonresistant.

I confess that too often as a Christian child of God I have fallen under the strong-willed category.    

The good news is that any of us can be transformed from being a strong-willed to a compliant child—from a child who resists the Lord to a child that submits.

Over the years, I can see God at work in me making me into a more compliant child.

Recently as I prayed about this battle of resisting vs embracing God’s will, this is what came to mind. “Surrender to My will. Keep in your mind: ‘not my will, but Yours be done.’ Stop resisting. Will to do My will. Ask what My will is.”

As I meditated on surrendering to God’s will vs insisting on my own way, I thought of John 5:30 in the Amplified Bible which presents what Jesus said on the subject:

…I do not seek or consult My own will [I have no desire to do what is pleasing to Myself, My own aim, My own purpose] but only the will and pleasure of the Father Who sent Me.

 Every time I read that, I find it amazing to discover how compliant Jesus was. I know that my Savior said and lived these words from John 5:30 as an example and as a goal for me and for other Christians.

I’m relieved to discover I don’t have to learn compliance on my own. As I determine to submit to God and will to do His will, He helps brings me closer to being able to say of every issue in my life: 

…not my will, but yours be done.”  Luke 22:42 NIV

My part is to be willing to continue on this sometimes difficult journey to the place where my only desire is to do His will.

That’s where I want to go.

Are you willing to join me on that journey?  

To hear more about Embracing God’s Will go to www.wtis1110.com and Listen Live to my radio show, Hearts Set Free with Elaine at 10:30am on Saturday, February 18, 2012.

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Embracing God’s Will

  1. Jane Reece says:

    I am on for the journey. This blog gives another opportunity for sweet surrender. I know that comedy is not your goal, but I howl at how you always hit me where I need it. Write on, dear Elaine, you are a wonderful minister for the Lord Jesus Christ.

  2. Clella says:

    Elaine, You have certainly been successful with your attempts to become a compliant child as I do not see your stubborn, self-willed defiance at all. Believe me when I tell you I would recognize it as I am still working with the Lord on my stubborness. thanks for this. Clella

Leave a Reply

