Waiting For the Lord

One day the Lord impressed me with a fact. So much of the anxiety in my life has had to do with waiting—especially waiting for answers to prayer.

Since then I’ve thought a lot about waiting.

I’ve discovered that waiting is about trusting, and it’s imperative that I be willing not only to wait but to do so with a better attitude.

As I’ve talked to and observed other Christians, I discovered having difficulty with waiting is a universal problem. I’ve also found that in waiting my faith is tested.

My desire is to pass God’s waiting tests with flying colors and honor Him as I do. And even if I’m feeling weary, I can choose to wait with a thankful, hope-filled heart.

The good news is that as I wait on the Lord with the proper attitude, He takes away my weariness and draws me close to Himself. Isaiah 40:31 reminds me of this and brings such comfort to my heart—even as I continue to wait for God’s promises to be fulfilled in my life.

But those who wait for the Lord [who expect, look for, and hope in Him] shall change and renew their strength and power; they shall lift their wings and mount up [close to God] as eagles [mount up to the sun]; they shall run and not be weary, they shall walk and not faint or become tired. AMP

I long to embrace this verse in a deeper way than I ever have before. Today I choose to believe that during the waiting God will supply strength, power, and energy and that on the other side of waiting are wonders beyond description.

Will you join me in waiting expectantly and looking to and for the Lord in every difficulty in life? What joy we can have—even as we wait.

To hear more about Waiting For The Lord listen to “Hearts Set Free with Elaine” radio show– http://www.wtis1110.com on Saturday, February 25, 2012 at 10:30am EST.

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Waiting For the Lord

  1. Jane Reece says:

    As we wait, let us remember to REST in His love!

  2. Emily Swanton says:

    Elaine: Responding to your blog and Jane Reece’s comment: Some years ago as I was going through a particularly low and anxiety-ridden ;part of my spiritual journey, I too heard the word, “Rest!” I also got what I called my “new ear,” for certain music, one being Handel’s Messiah– “His yoke is easy, His burden llght.” And I realized I needed to get my ego out of the way so God could work in me as had asked him to. Your friend from Cutting Edge class, Emily.

Leave a Reply

