Holding On To God’s Promises

As I tearfully make my way through the valley of suicide grief, this thought has come to me: suicide feels like a broken promise.

One unspoken promise I’ve felt was broken is, “We will never do this to each other again.” Years ago our family grieved the suicide death of someone else we dearly loved. And now we are once more on that rugged journey. My heart cries, “I don’t want to go through this again. This path is too long, too hard.”

If I keep my eyes on the promise my loved one seemed to break rather than on the One who keeps every promise He makes, I start to sink.

If I focus on promises contained in God’s Word and embrace them for myself and my life, I actually feel joy—even in the midst of my sorrow. Yes this precious loved one and others in my life have broken promises. My husband has broken promises. My children have. So have my friends. I have broken promises as well—even promises I have made to myself.

But I am reminded as I seek God’s comfort, that He in His faithfulness is incapable of breaking a promise.

Years ago, I wrote an acronym for the word hope. It said, HOPE = Holding Onto Promises Expectantly. Hope is not about reading, reciting, or memorizing promises in God’s Word. It is about holding onto them—believing with all my heart that they are for me and if I haven’t experienced them yet, they will come to be.

Here are several of the scores of promises God holds out to me:

Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you. Hebrews 13:5 NIV 

I go to prepare a place for you. If I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and receive you to Myself, that where I am, there you may be also. John 14:203 NASB

You will keep him in perfect peace, Whose mind is stayed on YouIsaiah 26:3 NKJV

These promises will never fade. As I hold to them, they calm and comfort me. When I let them wash over me, they replace the waves of sadness, and I feel safe.

Father, thank You for Your precious promises that are found in Your Word. Help me to fully believe them and receive them. In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen.

Will you join me in praying that prayer as you grieve over broken promises?   

To hear more about Holding On To God’s Promises tune in to Hearts Set Free with Elaine. Go to www.wtis1110.com on Saturday, April 14, 2012 at 5:30pm EST and press “Listen Live.”

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Holding On To God’s Promises

  1. Beth Willis Miller says:

    Elaine, I so appreciated your post today. Yes, I will join you in praying the prayer you have as I, too, grieve over broken promises. One of my favorite Scripture promises is Psalm 37:4…“Delight yourself in the LORD; and He will give you the desires of your heart.” I discovered a wonderful acronym for the word, “delight,” which helps me as I pray through this promise also…
    Daily
    Everything
    Laid
    Into
    God’s
    Hands
    Totally

  2. Dawn says:

    I am so sorry for your loss. May God continue to comfort and encourage with His Words of Hope.

  3. Beautiful piece, Elaine. I’m sorry for your loss. I too as a survivor from a family suicide and I can relate from your struggles. Thank you for your testimony about how wonderful our savior Jesus Christ truly is.

Leave a Reply

