Sensing God’s Presence In Times of Grief

“I am so alone.”

Some days when I’m deep in grief, that thought crosses my mind. But shortly after, a whisper comes.

“My child, I am with you. You are never alone.”

God’s presence has brought such comfort during this journey through grief since my brother’s tragic death by suicide.

Even though my heart aches, and I feel a distance from humans because most don’t understand this kind of grief, I’ve never felt closer to God. His presence is more real than ever before. I do sense Him right here with me—even at this very moment.

It is a wonderful feeling.

I’ve been pondering how it is that I feel so close to God and sense His presence.  Yet there are others going through grief who say they’re Christians and know the Lord, and it seems they don’t.

What is the secret to sensing God’s presence?

Some things that come to mind are: I believe in it, I hunger for it, and I know God promises I can experience it.

And as I’ve said before I’m not backing away from God. Also, I’m not blaming God, I’m not angry at God, and I’m not demanding God explain everything.  Although I admit I ventured through all four of those  minefields of the mind for a short time.

Right now my whole heart wants to move toward Him. I see Him as my only hope, my only comfort. The Bible says it this way:

…I am always with you; you hold me by my right hand…Whom have I in heaven but you? And earth has nothing I desire besides you. Psalm 73: 23 & 25 NIV

Lately at times I’ve been tempted and have given in to the temptation to look to things on this earth to bring comfort. My mind tries to convince me that some sweet “comfort food” or something I can purchase is the key to making myself feel better. But none of this comes close to the sense that God is right here with me comforting and guiding me every step of this rugged way.

It seems when I turn to the things of this world, the sense of His presence diminishes.

Another verse that comes to mind which gives me clues about how to stay in God’s presence is in Psalm 100:4

Enter his gates with thanksgiving and his courts with praise; give thanks to him and praise his name. NIV   

Gratitude and expressing it through praise ushers me into God’s presence—especially when it seems I am drifting away from it.

I want to continue to embrace God and the truth that He is with me. Sadness comes because of grief, but gladness overrules because I know my great God is always with me and will remain faithful.

Are you sensing God’s presence as you grieve?

To hear more about Sensing God’s Presence In Times of Grief go to www.wtis1110.com on Saturday, May 12, 2012 at 5:30pm EST and press “Listen Live” to listen to Hearts Set Free with Elaine.  In the Tampa Bay area, tune in on the radio to WTIS at 1110 AM on your radio dial.

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sensing God’s Presence In Times of Grief

  1. Debbie Nelis says:

    Dear Elaine
    Keep writting, keep share, keep crying and always keep smiling “for we do not grieve as those who have no hope.”

Leave a Reply

