The Blessing of Silence

God reminded me of truth recently. Fretting out loud to people shows I don’t trust God.

As a result God issued to me a “vow of silence” when it comes to two people I love and the difficulties they’re going through. I’m not to discuss their situation with them or anyone but the Lord until He intervenes.

One verse that jumped into my mind is Isaiah 30:15.

…in quietness and in [trusting] confidence shall be your strength” (AMP)

Finally I’m learning that too much talk makes matters worse. When I can’t be silent about flaws in the spiritual lives of loved ones and feel the need to discuss these with each of them and with others at length, this shows I don’t think God’s going to do anything to deal with these issues, so I must. Somehow this hinders God’s work.

Another verse that comes to mind when I think about silence and the Lord is Psalm 62:1  

For God alone my soul waits in silence; from Him comes my salvation. AMP

I remember first reading this verse in relation to my marriage at one of those moments when I felt “this marriage can’t be saved.” Silence did work wonders then.  

Psalm 62:5  is a verse to reiterate to my soul the importance of waiting silently for the Lord to intervene.

My soul, wait only upon God and silently submit to Him; for my hope and expectation are from Him.  AMP

In the New International Version of the Bible, there’s no mention of silence but the word “rest” is there.

“My soul finds rest in God alone.” Psalm 62:1

“Find rest, O my soul, in God alone.”  Psalm 62:5

Could this be the key to finding rest for my soul–to wait silently for God instead of fretting and formulating plans to change the course of events around me with my own strength and wisdom? Is it possible that peace will settle over me as I give up talking incessantly about the trials and tribulations in my life and in the lives of those I love?

I’m discovering when I’m silent and waiting patiently for the Lord, it honors Him because it shows I trust Him. The opposite is when I tell people about my problems or the “problem people” in my life because I want an answer from them. I feel God’s taking too long, so I want a person to give me a solution—now. Sometimes I’ve gone to counselors and expected that. A good counselor keeps me from depending on him or her for answers but helps me to stay vitally connected to God, so I can continue to receive from Him.

When I fail to be silent as the Lord instructs I do damage to the relationships in my life, but I also do damage to my relationship with the Lord. And I lose the peace God has for me because I’m keeping my mind on my problems instead of on Him. Isaiah 26:3 reminds me:

You will guard him and keep him in perfect and constant peace whose mind…is stayed on You. (AMP)  

I’m seeing I need to develop this discipline of silence first before the Lord. It’s important to take time to be silent in prayer rather than speaking all the time. I so easily slip back into this. How ludicrous that I can think even for a moment that my words are more important than His—that telling Him is more vital then Him telling me?

Are you willing to develop the discipline of silence? Ask the Lord how to proceed. I believe God has rich blessings for us as we embrace this whole concept of silence.

Lord, help us to be silent about the things You want us to entrust to You. Help us to pray instead of say. And when we’re praying let us take time to be silent and wait before You and for You. In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen.

To hear more about The Blessing of Silence go to www.wtis1110.com on Saturday, June 16 2012 at 5:30pm EST and press “Listen Live” to listen to Hearts Set Free with Elaine.  In the Tampa Bay area, tune in on the radio to WTIS at 1110 AM on your radio dial.

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Blessing of Silence

  1. Christine says:

    This is an area I need to work on. Sometimes I complain in the guise of a “prayer request”. For me it comes out of a fearful heart. So I am asking God to retrain my brain to first go to Him and take the fearfulness out, then seek godly counsel if need be. He has given me two wonderful people in my life in which I can go to, who will not be condemning, give good godly counsel (whether I like what they say or not) or as one would say, “I don’t give advice only input.”

  2. Dawn says:

    Thank you for sharing. I’m taking a Biblical Counseling class at church and this is very confirming. Also, I know the Lord is showing me that I have done too much lalking about my difficult person. Fretting – worry – is not trusting. Phil. 4:6,7: Don’t worry about anything, instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. If you do this, you will experience God’s peace, which is far more wonderful than the human mind can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus. (NLT)

  3. Dear Elaine
    Thank you again for your ability to speak the things I have struggled with in my Christian walk time and time again. The flesh is sometimes like a small child, “it just wants what it wants! and it wants it right now!. “It is as though we ” think by our much speaking that we will be heard” But God is a good parent and He will not be manipulated (the Bible says that manipulation is some as witch-craft) I had a friend who told me once that she just need to talk out-load and maybe she would learn something. “I think the Enemy, tells us all to do that, He knows that if we “talk-out-load” we create fear, unbelief and strife. The Bible says “where strife is every evil work is present.”
    Thanks again for reminding us of the power of silence and the willingness to wait upon the answer from our loving heavenly Father

Leave a Reply

