Remind Me Who I Am

Recently I read a blog written by a seeker of truth—someone who didn’t present himself as a born again Christian but who put some truth into what he wrote. One challenge he gave the reader was to explore the “I am” statements he says or thinks about himself throughout the day. The conclusion the blogger came to is that those statements may not be true. 

I realized that I still slip into saying negative “I ams” when I’m having a bad day: I am a failure. I am a mess. I am not good enough.

 Before I knew the Lord, when these statements came to mind, I believed them. And I allowed them to dictate how I lived.  

 After reading that blog, I left a comment:   

 “For years I defined who I was–mostly with negative statements about myself. Then I received Christ as my Savior, and He saved me not only from hell in the future but also from the present bondage and pain of these lies I had used for so long to define myself. Now I can be joyful and free as I embrace who He says I am. Sometimes I need to be reminded.”

Then I put the link to an Internet site I found that tells who I am in Christ. Here are a few reminders from that site:

 I AM GOD’S…

 child John 1:12

 friend James 2:23

 chosen Ephesians 1:4

 beloved Romans 1:7/ 2 Thess 2:13

 precious jewel Malachi 3:17

 I AM…

 free forever from sin’s power Romans 6:14

 loved eternally 1 Peter 1:5 /

 not condemned Romans 8:1-2

 his sheep Ps 23 / Psalms 100:3/ John 10:14

 a citizen of heaven 1 Peter 2:11

A couple of days later, a friend sent me a link to the song “Remind Me Who I Am” by Jason Gray. I had heard the song before but because of reading the blog and then receiving and listening anew to Jason’s song, I decided God wanted to remind me who I am in Him.

Perhaps it’s because as I go through the valley of suicide grief I have had some “I am” thoughts that aren’t true ie “I am a failure because I didn’t save my brother’s life,” and “I am not loved by God because He allowed this to happen to a member of my family.”

Today I am holding to who and what God says I am. All of them wrapped together come down to the most significant which is “I am eternally loved by Him.” No circumstance, no fault of mine, no words or actions of others can change that fact. Now there’s a reason to celebrate.

How about you? Do you define who you are and/or allow others to do so? Are you ready to fully embrace the “I am” truths God is holding out to you and to all who belong to Him?

If You are not born again but would like to be so that all of these “I am” statements will apply to you, say this prayer poem written by Billy Graham:

Jesus, You died upon a cross/And rose again to save the lost/Forgive me now of all my sin/Come be my Saviour, Lord, and Friend. Change my life and make it new/And help me Lord/to live for You.

To hear more about the subject of “Remind Me Who I Am” go to www.wtis1110.com on Saturday, June 23, 2012 at 5:30pm EST and press “Listen Live” to listen to Hearts Set Free with Elaine.  In the Tampa Bay area, tune in on the radio to WTIS at 1110 AM on your radio dial. To listen to the audio archives of Hearts Set Free go to www.wtis1110.com and press “Shows”. Scroll down and press “Hearts Set Free” and then scroll down and press “audio archives.”       

 Link to “I am” lists: http://prayertoday.org/2004/PDF/Guides/Who-I-Am.PDF 

Link to “Remind Me Who I Am” by Jason Gray: 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QSIVjjY8Ou8&feature=related

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Remind Me Who I Am

  1. Christine says:

    Elaine, I am there with you. Sometimes the doubt is so overwhelming. I have to “God Talk” though those times. It is amazing how powerful Scripture memory is. I love the song by Jason Gray and down loaded it to my I pod. I think I need to revisit it today.

  2. Cindy says:

    As imperfect humans, we tend to dwell on the negative. Many people grow up in negative families, and we live in a system that is rude and unkind. However, when I think about the sacrifice Christ Jesus made for us, it helps me to think more positively–that I am special and have worth. His willingness to make the ultimate sacrifice for all humans reminds us that He loves each of us, that we are valuable. When I have times that are troubling and hear those negative tapes in my head (which is much of the time), I read and meditate on Bible scriptures such as John 17:3 “This means everlasting life, their taking in knowledge of you, the only true God, and of the one whom You sent forth, Jesus Chirst.” NWT

Leave a Reply

