I Am Never Alone

Last week I wrote about “I am” statements we say to ourselves. One of the declarations I make in my mind on a regular basis is “I am alone.”

It’s not that I’m by myself when I say those words. At the moment I can be in a group of people.

My “I am alone” proclamation rings through my mind when I’m with unbelievers who do not view the world as I do. At times they ridicule me because of this.

I also embrace this “I am alone” statement when I’m with an individual or group who proclaim to be Christian, and yet see evil as good and truths from Scripture as lies.

I sense I am alone when a fellow Christian I’m communicating with seems dedicated to being ruled by the flesh rather than the Spirit. The person gives me a look and even declares I’ve gone off the deep end because I want to embrace a truth or action from Scripture that the person has decided does not apply to his/her life.

It’s a lonely feeling when it seems no one else thinks like me or understands what I’m saying.

The kind of alone I’m talking about is a spiritual loneliness where I feel disconnected from others on a spiritual level.

Elijah in 1 Kings 19:10 states after the victory of killing false prophets and then being threatened by Jezebel:

And I, I only am left…

I have had that sense—that I am the only one left who believes God’s truth and who wants to walk in it.

But just as Elijah was mistaken so have I been. By verse 18 God is telling Elijah:

I will leave seven thousand in Israel,
all the knees that have not bowed to Baal,
and every mouth that has not kissed him.

Elijah thought he was all alone when instead there were seven thousand godly people who remained. One writer put it this way, “Elijah wasn’t alone after all. He was a part of the fellowship of the faithful, from whom God would rebuild his people.”

Fellowship is essential to believing the truth that I am never alone.  Instead of retreating when I’m feeling alone, I need to seek to spend time with like-minded Christians.  1 John 1:7 states:  

But if we [really] are living and walking in the Light, as He [Himself] is in the Light, we have [true, unbroken] fellowship with one another…

I’m realizing I will always feel close and connected to those who are also “walking in the light.” And when I go through suffering because of what I believe, I can keep on

… standing firm in the faith, because (I) know that the family of believers throughout the world is undergoing the same kind of sufferings. 1 Peter 5:9 NIV

Even though I may feel alone when people don’t agree with me, don’t understand me, or even ridicule me when it comes to spiritual matters, there is a vast number of people who are on my side and who also desire to have a close walk with the Lord.

Today I am celebrating that truth.

Will you join me?

To hear more about “I Am Never Alone” go to www.wtis1110.com on Saturday, June 30, 2012 at 5:30pm EST and press “Listen Live” to listen to Hearts Set Free with Elaine.

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Am Never Alone

  1. Mary Ardis says:

    I am walking with you, my friend! You are not alone! And I am not alone. Thank you for the beautiful reminder in a world that can seem so dark and lonely.

  2. Dear Elaine
    Thank you, its seems as though we on the same journey. A jouney of discovering that not only are we not alone but in those times that we are hurting the most and people can be so cold, indifferent, unloving or unapproachable. We have a “friend that sticks closer then a brother.” We have a saviour who laid down His life for us. In these time we need but to close our eyes and look to Hebrews 21:1 “Seeing then that we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witness…”

Leave a Reply

