Guest blog by Irene Byers

I’m so blessed to have people in my life who inspire me to be more than I think I can be. Irene Byers is one of those people. This week I have a guest blog from her. Irene was involved in a horrific automobile accident in 2002, which left her with compound fractures of twelve major bones, a crushed kneecap, several broken ribs, a collapsed lung, a concussion, and a long recovery ahead of her.

This accident and the recovery time worked in Irene’s life to draw her closer to God and led her to write two books focusing on the Bible verses that helped her through her ordeal.  These two books and the truths she passed along in them have encouraged me on rough days in my own life. Here is one of the devotionals from her book, Verses by Accident, Volume 2.

LEAVES STAY GREEN

“But blessed are those who trust in the Lord and have made the Lord their hope and confidence. They are like trees planted along a riverbank, with roots that reach deep into the water. Such trees are not bothered by the heat or worried by long months of drought. Their leaves stay green, and they go right on producing delicious fruit.” Jeremiah 17:7-8 NLT

In the dregs of my recovery, I had difficulty believing that any leaves in my life could be staying green or that any fruit could even be delicious. With encouragement from family and friends, I began to trust the Lord more and look less at my situation. When my focus shifted from myself to the Lord, I felt rooted much like trees along a riverbank. My roots were extending deep into His living water and building new strength in me.

When we become rooted in Him, we don’t have to worry about the circumstances around us. Our tree of life will go right on producing delicious fruit and its leaves will be healthy ones. It doesn’t mean we’ll never have a rough day or a discouraging moment, but we know that our trust in Him will yield delicious fruit. We can live in confidence in Him.

–Irene Byers

Visit Irene’s website: http://Irenebyers.com

You can “meet” Irene and hear more about how she became more confident in God as she faced the trauma of a head-on collision and the long recovery after in my interview with her on my radio show, “Hearts Set Free” Tune in to www.wtis1110.com on Saturday, July 28, 2012 @ 5:30pm EST and press “Listen Live.”

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

