Hurt and Healing

One thing I’m reminded of lately is that if you have “hurt people” in your life, they will hurt you—again and again and again.

The issue is what we do with our hurt. Do we become bitter, vengeful, filled with hate? The command I find repeatedly in the word of God that I must come back to and which Jesus demonstrated is “Love.”  

Today I experienced hurt because of more lies from someone I had recently caught in multiple lies, deception, and manipulation.  

A chaotic situation bombarded me this afternoon because of this liar who encouraged another to join him in betraying me.  I felt surprised because I had said to these two people responsible for the chaos, “Whatever you do, make sure you do this…” And then they did the opposite. When I confronted them, they both told more lies.    

As I fumed with anger and hurt rising up in me, I found something on the floor of my pantry. It was from my granddaughter’s Sunday School lesson from weeks or maybe even months before–a two inch by two inch piece of paper. There was one word printed on it: “Forgive.”

At that moment I felt convinced God knew everything I was feeling–the hurt, the sense of betrayal, the anger. He empathized with my being ignored.

So in the midst of my hurting, I called out to God, my healer. And He began to heal my hurt. Psalm 30 explains what I experienced:     

I will exalt you, O Lord, for you lifted me out of the depths and did not let my enemies gloat over me. O Lord my God, I called to you for help and you healed me.  O Lord, you brought me up from the grave; you spared me from going down into the pit. (verses 1-3 NIV 1984)

Tomorrow–or even later today–I may experience more hurt from these wounded people around me who refuse to go to God, the Healer. But I can choose how I will respond to hurt. Either I can choose to nurse my wounds and cause them to be deeper, or I can decide to allow The Healer to heal me.

Today I choose healing. I’m praying one day they will too.  

How about you? Are you experiencing hurt and betrayal today? Are you giving in to anger and revenge, or will you allow your Heavenly Healer to heal you?

To hear more about “Hurt and Healing,” listen to my radio show, “Hearts Set Free” on Saturday, September 15, 2012 at 5:30pm EST. Go to www.wtis1110.com and press “Listen Live.”

Note: Today I’m wearing a shirt which says “America, God Shed His Grace on Thee” to remember those killed and the grieving families of 9-11. I also remember the heroes who sacrificed to save others during that tragedy. I pray that those who survived 9-11 and those still overwhelmed by grief will meet the Healer, Our Lord Jesus Christ.

A song that ministered to me today and is for all those who are hurting–including those affected by 9-11– is “The Hurt and The Healer” by MercyMe. Go to Youtube and listen. You will be blessed.

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hurt and Healing

  1. Marylou Hess says:

    Elaine, Your message came at the perfect time for me. And right up front, you said that the hurtful people are in pain themselves. This makes it easier to forgive them. I needed to be reminded of that. Thanks so much.

  2. Mary Ardis says:

    Earlier this year God blessed me with being able to see Mercy Me in Biloxi, Mississippi where they sang “The Hurt and The Healer” for the very first time to an audience. The lyrics to this song are amazing and healing. I pray that these inspired words from God will help you to be healed and to forgive those “who have trespassed against you”. You encouraged me by reminding me that the crafts and lessons I do with the little children each Sunday may reach their families too! God Bless You, Elaine, for your faithfulness to Him and to your special ministry.

Leave a Reply

