Raising Your Joy Level

Lately I’ve been thinking of a phrase a Bible leader told me awhile ago. She said, “If your joy level is going down, it’s time to repent.”

I do sense joy diminishing in my life. And I’ve been repenting—of having a pride problem, of being impatient, of withholding love, and of trying to control people and situations.

The good news is that God is humble. He’s patient with me. He never holds back His love from me, and He gently reminds me He’s in control.

On the other side of all these lessons God is teaching me about how to love like Him, I know that joy will overflow again.

So I’m continuing to pray Psalm 139: 23:24:

Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting. (NIV 1984)

In the middle of this battle with my flesh which is demanding its own way, the big question is, “Will I continue to be eager to repent?” Not just so I can return to that level of joy I’ve experienced when I’m in the center of God’s will, but because I want to please the Lord with how I live my life.

My answer is “Yes.” I need not feel hopeless about my failures to love like the Lord. He will not give up on me. As I keep my eyes on Him and stay immersed in His Word, these words of blessing wash over my soul.

May the God of hope fill you with all joy…as you trust in him… Romans 15:13 NIV 1984

Joy is on its way. It is the end product of returning to trusting the One who knows all and sees all. I pray for grace to once again fully embrace that challenge.

How about you? Is your joy level down? Is God showing you areas of your life where you need to repent? Come before Him, lay it all down, and start afresh.

To hear more about “Raising Your Joy Level” listen to my radio show “Hearts Set Free with Elaine” on Saturday, October 6, 2012 at 5:30pm EST. Go to www.wtis1110.com and press “Listen Live.”

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Raising Your Joy Level

  1. Thomas says:

    Control and pride – been there. Best way to explain is what I’ve learned: even though I knew that I could do so much better than them and I could show and tell everybody what they could do if they would just shut up and listen to what I wanted to say, I really didn’t have any friends and actually learned so much more from them when I kept MY mouth shut, smiled, had fun, and started loving everyone else. But that was just me. lol

  2. Thanks Elaine
    When our joy tank is low then our strength is too. The enemy is after our joy so we will be in a weaken state and he can take advantage of us. Keep your love tank full and then your joy tank will stay full as well.

Leave a Reply

