Guide Me, Lord

“Call failed” was the message I received after trying my cell phone.

I had help from Mapquest, but it seemed I’d been driving for many more miles on the lonely country road than was listed on my directions.

I longed for the guidance of a paper map, so I would know exactly where I was. How I hated the sense of being lost and wondering if I was truly traveling in the right direction. My lines of communication were gone. No gas stations appeared for me to stop for guidance and reassurance.

So I called on God to help me, and I kept driving.

Before long I made it to my friend’s house. Shortly after I started being concerned, the intersection I thought I had missed was before me. I turned left, left again and then right arriving at my friend’s chicken farm in Trenton, Florida, where my granddaughter and I enjoyed a wonderful afternoon.

As I’ve been reflecting since then on the many times I’ve been or felt lost in my travels on the road, I feel grateful I can call on the Lord whenever I that happens in my spiritual life. Sometimes I don’t feel lost at all, but God has to convince me I’m headed in the wrong direction.

What He promises to give me whenever I discover “I’m not where I’m supposed to be” is guidance.

My problem hasn’t been God not being available for guidance but me failing to call on Him. It’s usually because my pride tells me I can figure things out on my own.

Scripture tells me this:

He guides the humble in what is right and teaches them his way. Psalm 25:9 NIV 1984

Just calling on God to show me the way—His way–is a sign I’m moving from self-sufficiency and toward humility.

How often after I’ve made a wrong choice or have found myself on the wrong path spiritually (ie the path of anger and bitterness) I’ve thought I wish I had consulted the Lord about this from the start.

The good news is that no matter where I am—even in the place of having avoided His guidance for too long and feeling far away from Him, He is right there ready to guide me.

If I rise on the wings of the dawn, if I settle on the far side of the sea, even there your hand will guide me, your right hand will hold me fast. Psalm 139:9-10

Having God always available for guidance consoles me. On uncertain days when the future seems ominous, I’m comforted by the promises of His guidance I find in the Word, especially this one:

he will be our guide even to the end” Psalm 48:14

How about you? Do you repeatedly seek and count on God’s guidance? Or do you depend on your own resources to guide you through life? Today consider saying this prayer, “Guide me, Lord.” As You trust and respond to His guidance, wondrous things will happen.

To hear more about God’s guidance listen to my radio program, “Hearts Set Free,” on Saturday October 13, 2012 at 5:30pm EST. Go to www.wtis1110.com and press “listen live.”

Note: Beginning November 1, 2012 Hearts Set Free will move to a new time—Saturdays at 8:00am.

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Guide Me, Lord

  1. Jane Reece says:

    Good going, Elaine. Yes, we Christians have a teacher who will lead us into all truth. Righto! The key is to depend on His leading.

  2. Beth Willis Miller says:

    Love this, Elaine…I’m right there with you…praying…I trust you Jesus, You know what You are doing…

  3. Great thoughts, Elaine. I needed that.

  4. Julie says:

    Thank you, Elaine, for your clear words of Truth.

Leave a Reply

