Abandonment Issues

“We are settling for a Christianity that revolves around catering to ourselves when the central message of Christianity is actually about abandoning ourselves.”

This quote from Pastor David Platt came across my path on Facebook.

Whenever I see the word “abandon,” Oswald Chambers comes to mind. Today I searched for his book, My Utmost for His Highest, which I found–abandoned on my book shelf.

In the index I looked up “abandonment,” and discovered twenty references to the subject.

I read them all.

As I once again meditate on these truths first published in 1935, I realize how far American and my own form of Christianity is from what this author insists God is calling us to be as Christians.

Here is some of what I read:

“Many of us are after our own ends, and Jesus Christ cannot help Himself to our lives. If we are abandoned to Jesus, we have no ends of our own to serve.”

“If we only give up something to God because we want more back, there is nothing of the Holy Spirit in our abandonment; it is miserable commercial self-interest. That we gain heaven, that we are delivered from sin, that we are made useful to God—these things never enter as considerations into real abandonment, which is personal sovereign preference for Jesus Christ Himself.”

“In our abandonment we give ourselves over to God just as God gave Himself for us, without any calculation.”

“If you have only come the length of asking God for things, you have never come to the first strand of abandonment.”

Abandon means to refuse yourself the luxury of asking any questions.”

“Whenever the realization of God comes in the faintest way imaginable, recklessly abandon. It is only by abandon that you recognize Him. You will only realize His voice more clearly by recklessness.”

“To fulfill God’s design means entire abandonment to Him.”

If ever I think I’m near “arriving” as a Christian, all I have to do is read from My Utmost… and I see how far I have to go to fully embrace God’s call on my life.

I want to abandon to Him. I desire to put an end to asking questions and to stop looking at “What’s in this for me?” I want to be reckless in living for Him. Yet a part of me shrinks in horror from that course.

How I long to live out Romans 12: 1 & 2 like never before:

With eyes wide open to the mercies of God, I beg you, my brothers, as an act of intelligent worship, to give him your bodies, as a living sacrifice, consecrated to him and acceptable by him. Don’t let the world around you squeeze you into its own mould, but let God re-mould your minds from within, so that you may prove in practice that the plan of God for you is good, meets all his demands and moves towards the goal of true maturity. (J. B Phillips New Testament)

Will you join me in this prayer?

Lord, help me to truly and fully abandon to You.

To hear more about “Abandonment Issues,” listen to my radio show, “Hearts Set Free with Elaine” on Saturday, October 27, 2012 at 5:30pm EST. Go to www.wtis1110.com and press “Listen Live.”

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Abandonment Issues

  1. Christine says:

    WOW! Great lesson. I have started to do this everyday. Asking God what He wants me to do and not trying to do my “To do list”. It’s made me more flexible and less guilty because I’m doing what He wants and not what I want. This has especially been evident when I want to work on re – starting the fiction piece, Knowing I told HIm i wouldn’t work on it until The Father’s Study (FS) is complete, the urge comes and I immediately write down my idea and go for the FS. And it’s amazing how productive He allows me to be when I do what He wants.

  2. David says:

    Thanks for this good and timely word!

  3. Anne Garris says:

    Elaine, you always seem to “hit the nail on the head”, just when I begin to think I have “arrived”. Thanks, I needed that. God bless, Anne Garris

  4. Beth Willis Miller says:

    Elaine, I LOVE Oswald Chambers and also this translation of Romans 12:1-2 The Living Bible–“I plead with you to give your bodies to God. Let them be a living sacrifice, holy–the kind he can accept. When you think of what he has done for you, is this too much to ask? Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this world, but be a new and different person with a fresh newness in all you do and think. Then you will learn from your own experience how his ways will really satisfy you!”
    I was so honored today to have my story of “abandonment” published here: http://findinggoddaily.com/2012/10/23/how-can-i-find-god-beths-story-gift-of-life/

Leave a Reply

