Be Ready

This past week as I rushed around doing errands, a song came on the radio. These two words seemed louder than the others: “Ready yourself.”

I thought of the verse in Scripture that speaks about being ready:

… always be ready to give a defense to everyone who asks you a reason for the hope that is in you… 1 Peter 3:15 NKJV

I had to confess I tended not to be ready. Instead of embracing “be ready” lately, I had embraced “be busy,” “be in rush,” and “Be distracted.”

I thought of people who had crossed my path lately that I could have engaged with—callers on the telephone, neighbors, and sales people at stores. I didn’t take the time to do so because of these other three “be s” that had a hold of me.

One way to “be ready,” to share Christ with others—what some call “planting seeds”–is to avoid scheduling so many things into a small segment of the day. Too often I determine it will take me exactly one half hour to go there, and then the next stop will take precisely fifteen minutes.

I don’t leave room for what God may have in mind.

Not too long ago I called a person on the telephone for some business help. Because I was not in a particular rush that day, this stranger and I got into a conversation that had nothing to do with the business at hand.

Somehow we got around to the subject of my being a writer and working on a book about marriage. This friendly lady expressed enthusiastically, “Tell me more” and shared that she was looking to get engaged soon.

I was able to give her the reason that I could hold on to hope in our marriage—no matter what difficulties came. God gave me the privilege of letting her know that the secret to marriage success is Jesus. She listened carefully, asked a few questions, and then thanked me profusely.

God reminded me of this phone conversation today and encouraged me to be ready for such exchanges on a daily and moment by moment basis.

Once again I’m asking myself this question: Am I embracing my own agenda for the day, or am I allowing God to be in charge and lead the way? Even things I think I’m doing for Him can get in the way of the very present calling He has for me.

Right now the phone is ringing, and I’m going to answer it.

“Lord, help me to be ready.”

To hear more about the subject of “Be Ready,” tune in to Hearts Set Free with Elaine on Saturday, November 10, 2012 at 8:00am. EST. Go to www.wtis1110.com and press “Listen Live.”

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

