Healing the Hidden

“If you have anything that’s hidden, stand,” said the singer at the concert I attended on Sunday, “and I will sing over you.”

He had earlier been speaking of addictions, sexual sin, losses. I had stood up over grief issues, and tears had flowed.

What came to mind when I heard the word “hidden” was an individual in my life that I was reaching out to who lately often hid the truth from me.

I had been praying a prayer based on Luke 8:17: “Lord, I pray that what is hidden shall be disclosed and what is being kept secret from me shall be known and come out into the open.”

Repeatedly God had allowed that to happen. But still there seemed more hidden in this person’s life.

God took the focus off of him and suddenly revealed something hidden in me. The word that came to mind was “shame.”

You have hidden shame.

I thought I had dealt thoroughly with shame.

The singer sang a song that brought more tears, and I sensed God was healing me of this deeply-entrenched shame.

After I got home, I realized that once again I had been focusing on getting people to stop hiding things from me. Because of this it had been a long time since I had asked, “God, is there any hidden issue in my life?”

A part of me was convinced I was being totally honest and transparent with myself and before God, so there was no need for such a prayer.

This verse showed me that we can be blind to the hidden things in our lives:

Who can discern his lapses and errors? Clear me from hidden [and unconscious] faults. Psalm 19:12 AMP

In the past I had been reminded of the need to have God reveal the hidden issues in my life and had often prayed Psalm 139:23-24. Today I’m seeing the need to get back to that practice.

Search me [thoroughly], O God, and know my heart! Try me and know my thoughts! And see if there is any wicked or hurtful way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.

Shame had been hurting me and was keeping me from trusting God completely and moving as close to Him as I could get. Today I am praising God that

Our iniquities, our secret heart and its sins [which we would so like to conceal even from ourselves], You have set in the [revealing] light of Your countenance. Psalm 90:8

God is so good. He wants to bring everything out into the open not to hold it over our heads and scold us, but to heal us. I receive Your healing, Lord.

How about you? Are you willing to pray Psalm 139:23 & 24 and allow God to bring every hidden issue to the surface, so He can help and heal?

To hear more about “Healing the Hidden,” listen to my radio show, “Hearts Set Free with Elaine” on WTIS 1110 AM on Saturday, December 8, 2012 at 8:00am EST. Go to www.wtis1110.com and press “Listen Live.”

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

