No Room

I’ve been thinking about Mary and Joseph and there being no room in the Bethlehem inn before Jesus was born.  The words “no room” have been going through my mind.

In my life there is someone to whom this “no room” verse applies:

In his pride the wicked does not seek him; in all his thoughts there is no room for God. Psalm 10:4

God has put this person in close proximity to me, and I find myself feeling frustrated. This individual is drowning in troubles, but no matter how many times I throw him the life ring marked “Jesus saves,” he tosses it back. He seems determined to cling to using his own strength to get out of the rough waters of his life.

As I’ve been battling anger at him for having no room in his life for Jesus, the Lord has showed me that at times I have left no room for allowing Jesus to work through me in my dealings with this troubled person.

Instead of seeking God about what to do, I come up with my own plan. As a Christian, I can resort to using my own strength in reaching out to others.

Too often into my plan to help this poor lost soul creeps three Cs: criticism, control, or condemnation (or judging).

None of these work to help someone make room for Jesus.

What does work is love.

Today my Bible study teacher passed along a making-room-for-God prayer to help us deal with the difficult people in our lives. “Lord, I ask You to love __________ through me and to get me out of the way.”

Through that prayer God showed me that instead of spending time trying to get others to repent, I need to turn around and make room for Him by determining to do things His way.

Today God reminded me of a making-room-for-Him verse in Psalm 37:5

Commit your way to the Lord, Trust also in Him, and He will do it. (NASB)

Lord, I’m willing. I confess that once again I’m not being led by love. Bring me back to loving like You—to allowing You to love through me.  Help me to make room for You, so that I can help others do the same. In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen.

How about you? Do you have difficult people in your life—those who are making no room for God? Are you willing to make room to allow God to work through You to love them to Him?

To hear more about “No Room” listen to my radio show Hearts Set Free with Elaine on Saturday, December 15, 2012 at 8:00am EST. Go to www.wtis1110.com

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

