Gaining God-Confidence

“Lose Weight.” Several sources listed this as the number one new year’s resolution.

I confess I’ve resolved more than once at the start of a new year to accomplish that goal.

But lately spiritual goals seem a better pursuit.

This year I want to lose more than weight. What I desire to lose in 2013 is self-confidence.

I’ve been dealing with someone who is held back in his life by a dedication to self-sufficiency. Despite having a life that is a wreck, he believes he’s able to provide for himself without help or wisdom from others—especially the Lord. Instead of depending on or seeking God, he is dependent only on what he thinks and feels.

If his thoughts or emotions tell him something is right, he does it without considering the consequences. He shuns wisdom and counsel from others the way a vegetarian avoids juicy steaks.

Because of this, his life is chaotic, and he ends up making one unwise decision after another.

He repeatedly calls on me and my husband to rescue him from these unwise choices.

The word the Bible uses to describe people who are self-confident rather than God-confident is “fool.”

In the Amplified Bible, there are numerous verses that speak of the “self-confident fool.”

This one caught my attention:

He who leans on, trusts in, and is confident of his own mind and heart is a [self-confident] fool, but he who walks in skillful and godly Wisdom shall be delivered. Proverbs 28:26

Even while I grieve over the foolishness of this individual, I see that I too can fall into the trap of being self-confident. This occurs at those moments when I think I don’t need to seek God and His counsel—that consulting my own thoughts and emotions is the best course.  

After I’ve blown it, I’m reminded that my thoughts and emotions cannot be trusted.

Even though I’m not ruled by self-confidence like this man I know, I can get caught in its clutches– especially since the world teaches that self-confidence is a good thing.

So instead of being obsessed about losing weight and trimming my waist line in 2013, I want to lose my tendencies toward self-confidence and become more God-confident.

The good news is that by taking this path I can experience the joy of a  life well-lived– according to God’s measuring of a life.

Is there anyone out there that wants to join me on this course?

To hear more about “Gaining God-Confidence,” tune in to my radio show, “Hearts Set Free with Elaine” on Saturday, January 12, 2013 at 8:00am EST. Tune in on the radio in the Tampa Bay area at 1110AM or go to www.wtis1110.com and press “Listen Live.”

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Gaining God-Confidence

  1. Christine says:

    Love this piece. I feel the same way when I let something become “who I am”. It shows that I am trusting self and forgetting that God was the one who gave me the ability to whatever it is or have what I do. My identity and confidence comes from Him and Him alone.

  2. Robin Popp says:

    Yes, I agree. What a great way to enter the new year.

  3. Jane Reece says:

    You always speak to me where God is dealing. Good nuggets!

Leave a Reply

