Our Great God

Today a book written in the 1950s, which I first heard of in the early 1980s came to mind. That book is Your God is Too Small by J. B. Phillips.

Every time I think of that title, I am convicted that in my everyday life, I often fail to embrace the greatness of God. I take away from His glory by my limited view of Him.

Some refer to this limiting of God as putting God in a box.

My desire for 2013 is to explore the greatness of God and to embrace Him in all His fullness. I want to stop making God in my own image and finally see Him as He truly is.   

I am challenged by these words from Scripture.

For great is the Lord and greatly to be praised; He is to be reverently feared and worshiped above all [so-called] gods. Psalm 94:4 AMP

I confess that too often I spend more time and energy proclaiming the greatness of things in the world such as a “great” movie or a “great” book instead of rejoicing about the greatness of my God.

Too many times in my life I have embraced the image of a God who is too small because I put myself instead of Him at the center of the universe. My eyes are so focused on me in my own little world that I forget that He made the world and all that’s in it, and He is in control of it all.

Staying in God’s Word brings me back to allowing my heart to be touched by God’s greatness.

Our God is so great and once we embrace this truth and let His greatness show through our lives, others will see and want to know our great God.

Today and in the days ahead will you join me in this challenge?  

O magnify the Lord with me, and let us exalt His name together. (Psalm 34:3)

To hear more about the greatness of God, listen to my radio show “Hearts Set Free with Elaine” on Saturday, January 19, 2013 at 8:00am EST. Listen on the radio at 1110 AM or go to www.wtis1110.com and press “Listen Live.”

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

