My Deliverer

When I think of the word “deliver” in my everyday life, I think of the local Italian place delivering pizza, UPS delivering a package, or the doctor delivering my babies.

Lately I’ve been pondering the word in connection with God and my spiritual life.

The world’s kind of delivering has to do with delivering things to me.

The Word of God uses the word often to speak of delivering me from things.

My Bible has 543 references to this word which means “to rescue from bondage or danger.”

Three of my favorite verses about God delivering me are in the Psalms. They are:

I sought the Lord, and he answered me; he delivered me from all my fears. Psalm 34:4 NIV 1984

Many evils confront the [consistently] righteous, but the Lord delivers him out of them all. Psalm 34:19 AMP 

And call on Me in the day of trouble; I will deliver you, and you shall honor and glorify Me. Psalm 50:15 AMP

Lately I’ve felt often that I need rescuing. Calling out to the Lord to deliver me has been a regular habit.

I’ve noticed He doesn’t necessarily deliver me from difficult circumstances—at least not right away—but He always delivers me from the negative emotions surrounding them. Those feelings include anger, fear, and depression.

Today as I’m celebrating a God who delivers, I’m continuing to search the Scriptures and embracing all the promises in connection with this word that has so enhanced my life.

Will you join me?

To hear more about “My Deliverer,” listen to my radio show “Hearts Set Free with Elaine”  on Saturday, January 26, 2013 at 8:00am EST. Tune in on the radio at 1110 AM or go to www.wtis1110.com and press “Listen Live.”

You can also go to the archives of Hearts Set Free and listen to past shows. Go to www.wtis1110.com. Click on “shows,” scroll down to “Hearts Set Free,” and click on it. Go to the bottom right of the page and click on the title of a past show. I pray you will be challenged and changed.

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Deliverer

  1. Jane Reece says:

    Another good sip of Elaine’s inspiration. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

