Crying Out To God

Lately I’ve been studying Psalm 107. In this psalm, filled with wonderful promises, a verse is presented four times.

Then they cried out to the LORD in their trouble, and he brought them out of their distress. (verse 6)

It is repeated in verses 13, 19, and 28.

When I looked up the word “cried” in my Strong’s Concordance, it said “shriek” and “shriek from anguish or danger.”

Before each of these “crying out to the Lord” times, the people were not walking with God. Then they got desperate and shrieked to the Lord.

Years ago when I first read this psalm, I thought of how often I wandered off doing my own thing. When everything became a mess, I cried out to God. I confess sometimes I spent way too much time trying to fix the mess myself.  

I still tend to wander off, but not as often.

The good news is that when we cry out to the Lord after getting ourselves in trouble, He doesn’t turn us away and say, “I told you not to do that.” Instead He rescues us out of our distress.

This has happened to me repeatedly in my Christian walk. It is one of the greatest miracles of having a relationship with the God of the universe.

Distress is a strong word. When I looked it up, this is what I found: extreme anxiety, sorrow, pain, grief, affliction, trouble, misery.

Are you experiencing distress in your life right now? Perhaps it’s because you have taken your own course rather than holding to God and His way.

Cry out to the Lord, and He will keep His promise to deliver you from your extreme anxiety, sorrow, pain, grief, affliction, trouble, misery.

What a kind and merciful God we have.   

Don’t believe the enemy’s lies. His kindness and mercy are for you too.

To hear more about Crying Out To God, listen to Hearts Set Free with Elaine on Saturday, February 9, 2013 at 8:00am EST. Go to www.wtis1110.com and press “Listen Live.” To hear the show from the archives, go to www.wtis1110.com and click on shows. Scroll down to Hearts Set Free and click. Then go to the bottom left of my page to find the archived shows.   

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

