God, Are You There?

Last week I wrote about crying out to God.

But what if we cry out to our Lord, and it seems He’s ignoring us? What if it feels like He isn’t on the other end hearing our prayer?

Often in my Christian life,–especially early on–I have felt God was nowhere to be found, and it seemed He wasn’t listening to or answering my prayers.

When I read Psalm 88, I know the psalmist knows what that feels like. Here is part of His plea to God:

1 O Lord, the God of my salvation, I have cried to You for help by day… 2 incline Your ear to my cry! 3 For I am full of troubles, and my life draws near to Sheol (the place of the dead)….9 My eye grows dim because of sorrow and affliction. Lord, I have called daily on You;….13 to You I cry, O Lord; and in the morning shall my prayer come to meet You. 14 Lord, why do You cast me off? Why do You hide Your face from me?

As I looked at other “hiding” verses in the Psalms, I see that one of the issues is we humans are in a hurry, and we want God to present Himself right this minute. Too often we can demand, “God, do something!” When He doesn’t, we try to take over.

In Psalm 69:17 David voices that desire for a quick answer:

Hide not Your face from Your servant, for I am in distress; O answer me speedily!

There are two times when it seems God is hiding–when an important decision needs to be made and when troubles are overwhelming me. It can seem my world will end if God doesn’t show up quickly and do something.

But I’ve discovered my world doesn’t end or fall apart. And God’s always doing something. One thing He’s doing is working in my heart teaching me to trust Him and to believe He’s there whether I feel Him or not. He’s teaching me that faith and not feelings need to lead the way.

God’s not hiding from me, and He does desire to help me. It’s just not in my way and my time.

I hold to this verse—my life verse–which cheers my soul when it’s feeling stressed, depressed, or oppressed.

Fear not [there is nothing to fear], for I am with you; do not look around you in terror and be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen and harden you to difficulties, yes, I will help you; yes, I will hold you up and retain you with My [victorious] right hand of rightness and justice. Isaiah 41:10

God is there, and He’s answering my prayers. That’s something I can rejoice about every day.

How about you? Does it sometimes feel God is ignoring Your cry for help? Or that He’s not there for You? Believe and receive the truth that He hears you when you call and His answer is on the way.

To hear more about the subject of “God, Are You There?” listen to Hearts Set Free with Elaine on Saturday, February 16, 2013 at 8:00am EST. Tune in on the radio at WTIS 1110 AM or go to www.wtis1110.com and press “Listen Live.”

 

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to God, Are You There?

  1. tamandtauzer says:

    Thanks, Elaine. Love you.

    xoxoxo Tamara

  2. Christine says:

    Elaine, Thank you, I needed the Isaiah verse today. I definitely need to memorize this.

  3. Yes, I’ve been in this same place. Thanks for sharing these thoughts. I have found them to be so true in my life as well.

Leave a Reply

