I Will Not Be Moved

It was the evening of December 1, 1955. A seamstress, tired from a long day, boarded a bus in Montgomery, Alabama. She made her way past the whites-only section and settled in a seat in the middle of the bus directly behind it.

The rule was that if the bus got full and whites wanted to sit there, the blacks had to move to the back of the bus.

When the bus became more crowded, other African Americans who sat near her moved to make room for white passengers. But not this lady. She stayed where she sat and would not move despite shouted orders from the bus driver that she do so.

According to Wikipedia, this brave woman, Rosa Louise McCauley Parks, who lived from February 4, 1913 to October 24, 2005, was an African American civil rights activist whom the U S Congress called “the first lady of civil rights” and “the mother of the freedom movement.”

I admire Rosa, and I want to be like her—especially in my Christian life. There are times when the people around me want me to make choices that aren’t in line with God or His Word. They urge me to be unfaithful to what I believe or to abandon what God has called me to do and be in this world.

I want to have more and more an attitude of “I will not be moved” when it comes to living an obedient life. Yes, there may be consequences. Rosa faced anger and then an arrest. Her defiance on the bus also led to her being fired from her job.

Yet if we choose righteousness over ungodliness or worldliness, the end result can change the world—or at least our little corner of it. Rosa’s choice turned out to be the beginning of the end of Jim Crow laws.

Could she have imagined that one righteous, standing-up-for-justice act would change the course of U.S. history?

What life-changing and world-changing things will happen if I maintain a “I will not be moved” outlook as far as staying faithful to my God? I may not ever be aware of the final outcome of righteous choices I’ve made or will make today. But God knows and celebrates each time I decide to stand firm in my faith.

Today I’m embracing this verse and asking for God’s grace to truly live it:

…be firm (steadfast), immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord [always being superior, excelling, doing more than enough in the service of the Lord], knowing and being continually aware that your labor in the Lord is not futile [it is never wasted or to no purpose]. 1 Corinthians 15:58 AMP

What about you? Do you have a “I will not be moved” attitude when it comes to your walk with the Lord and remaining obedient? Today be brave and do the right thing even though the immediate consequences may not be comfortable and others may miffed–or even outraged.

Lord, help us to be immovable and let our heart’s first desire be to please You. Amen.

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

