Strongholds

Lately a pastor mentioned the subject of strongholds when I said I wanted to help Christians be set free.

I went to my Bible and looked up the only section of Scripture I knew of in the New Testament that mentioned strongholds. This, like the word “discernment,” is a word I never used before I became a Christian.

In 2 Corinthians 10 it says:

For though we live in the world, we do not wage war as the world does.  The weapons we fight with are not the weapons of the world. On the contrary, they have divine power to demolish strongholds.  We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ. 2 Corinthians 10:3-5.

According to a commentary I found online:

“Spiritual strongholds are strongly established sinful ways, false beliefs, and behaviors, that have gained a strong influence over a person to the extent that each stronghold “sets itself up against the knowledge of God” (v.5).

In areas that the strongholds are established, an individual is either unable to consistently follow God’s word or is unable to accept it because these spiritual strongholds have an excessive influence on him.”

The good news is that God tells us we can demolish strongholds in our lives—those sin areas that have such a strong hold on us that it seems we will never be free.

In the Old Testament the word stronghold is used many times. There was the literal, visible stronghold which is defined as “a place that has been fortified so as to protect it against attack.”

Even better– God is called a Stronghold again and again in the Old Testament.

Here is one verse that encourages me so much.

The Lord also will be a refuge and a high tower for the oppressed, a refuge and a stronghold in times of trouble (high cost, destitution, and desperation). Psalm 9:9

As I read these verses, I realized that if we want to be set free from strongholds, we need to make God our stronghold—to take a firm grip on Him and His will and way.

One of the best weapons we have against the enemy and his desire to keep these strongholds in our lives is obedience.

One teacher put it this way:

“Our obedient lives are weapons of righteousness that enable our prayers not to be hindered.”

Today I’m celebrating that Jesus is my stronghold. When it seems that the sin in my life has a strong hold on me, I can be set free as I take a strong hold on Him.

How about you? Do you have a sin habit in your life—a stronghold– that seems impossible to break? Take it to Jesus and let Him show You what spiritual weapons you can use to demolish that stronghold. Then tell others what He has done for you.

To hear more about the subject of strongholds tune in to Hearts Set Free with Elaine on Saturday, March 16, 2013 at 8:00am EST. Go to www.wtis1110.com and press “Listen Live.” If you miss the show you can look it up in the archives.

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Strongholds

  1. I was wondering if you ever considered changing the structure of your website?
    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little
    more in the way of content so people could connect with it
    better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or two pictures.
    Maybe you could space it out better?

  2. Valarie says:

    What a data of un-ambiguity and preserveness of valuable know-how
    on the topic of unpredicted emotions.

Leave a Reply

