Your Spiritual Gift

Has anyone ever asked you, “What’s your spiritual gift?”

This is an important question.  I’m so glad a person years ago posed it to me  and then helped me to discover my spiritual gift. The Word tells us:  

“God has given each of you a gift from his great variety of spiritual gifts. Use them well to serve one another. “ 1 Peter 4:10

What I know about my spiritual gift is that it has worked to help set me free as well as assisting others around me to gain spiritual freedom.

Nancy Guthrie writes in her book Abundant Life:

“I have given you a gift—not a material one, but a spiritual one. This gift is not intended primarily for your personal enjoyment, but for you to employ in service to others. My gift will enable you to give yourself away to those around you in ways that will effectively strengthen their faith and walk with me.”

Some people want to avoid the whole idea of spiritual gifts because there’s controversy on the subject– especially when it comes to the gift of speaking in tongues.  What I know is I want all God has for me.  The God of the universe has a offered a gift to me. I was excited to receive it and use it.

My Bible dictionary declares: “Spiritual gifts is used in the New Testament  to refer to extraordinary gifts of the Spirit given to Christians to equip them for the service of the Church…They may be broadly divided into two categories, those connected with the ministry of the word of God and those connected with the ministry of practical service.”

The Scripture passage below helped me to find out what spiritual gift the Holy Spirit had given to me.

Now concerning spiritual gifts, brethren, I do not want you to be ignorant…There are diversities of gifts, but the same Spirit….for to one is given the word of wisdom through the Spirit, to another the word of knowledge through the same Spirit, to another faith by the same Spirit, to another gifts of healings by the same Spirit, to another the working of miracles, to another prophecy, to another discerning of spirits, to another different kinds of tongues, to another the interpretation of tongues. But one and the same Spirit works all these things, distributing to each one individually as He wills.  (1 Corinthians 12:1,4,8-11)

The spiritual gift God has given to me is the gift of prophecy which is defined in the Amplified Bible as “inspired preaching and teaching, interpreting the divine will and purpose” (1 Corinthians 14:22). Some people call it the gift of proclaiming truth. What a privilege it has been to be used by God to declare truth and draw people closer to Him through writing and speaking.

How about you? Do you know what your spiritual gift is? Your Christian walk will be more effective if you discover it, receive it, and use it for God’s glory. Pray and ask God to reveal your gift to you. He will be delighted to answer that prayer.

 

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Your Spiritual Gift

  1. Elaine, thanks for the reminder of why God does this in and through us. At times, if feels like the gift is not a gift! Also, I have experienced the working of two gifts such as prophecy and discernment. Especially since, the two are so related.

Leave a Reply

