God Never Changes

Recently a coworker/friend and I were talking about how many things keep changing about our jobs. That day as I named out loud all the changes that had taken place, it seemed overwhelming.

A new computer system changed the way we performed our jobs. The hours I worked drastically changed. I went from working 8 hour shifts–3-11pm–to working 12 hour shifts-—7a -7p. Our boss had changed, not once but twice over the past year. What I wore to work changed. I went from wearing street clothes to wearing green scrubs. (At least I didn’t have to search around to find something to wear on St Patrick’s Day.)

The rules of our unit change often. Staff  leave and new staff come to replace them. An announcement was made not too long ago that our unit was going to move to a new location.

“I feel worn out by all these changes,” I said to my coworker. “Can’t everything stay the same for just one month, so I can catch my breath?”  

My friend reminded me, “We need to take one day at a time.”

I thanked her for reminding me of that.  

As I walked away from our conversation, I realized change was inevitable—no matter what area of my life I was looking at. And there was nothing I could do to make things stay the same.

Then God entered into my thoughts. He reminded me there was one constant in my life—Himself. No matter what happened I could cling to Him—the God who never changes. If I looked to Him instead of letting change upset me, I could find rest for my weary soul.

I was reminded of a song the Lord brought to my heart a couple of years back. It’s called “Nothing Ever Changes With You.”  

Dreams die./Souls sigh./But You’re still with me, Lord.

Hearts break./Arms ache/ But You’re my sure reward. 

My life changes/but nothing changes/ when it comes to You/You’re always there/to hear my prayers/You are faithful and true./Nothing ever changes/when it comes to You.

Plans fail./Hope sails./But You’re working things out.

Woes press./Fears stress./But You free me from doubt.

The bridge of the song goes like this:

When change overwhelms me/I can call on Your name./ The one sure thing/ I can cling to/is yesterday, today, and forever/You remain the same.

This week as I’ve been meditating again on a God who doesn’t change, I feel encouraged. Here are some things about Him that remain same:

His love for me.

His mercy toward me.

His holiness.

His justice.

His Word.

His promises.

The fact that He is with me.

How He views sin.

This Easter as I celebrate the victory Jesus won for me with His death on the cross and His resurrection, I can also rejoice over the truth that is proclaimed in Hebrews 13:8

Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever. (ESV)

and James 1:17:

Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights with whom there is no variation or shadow due to change.

How about you? Are changes in your life wearing you out? Or bringing you down? Turn to and rejoice in the God who never changes.  Then let His peace soothe you.   Ahhhhh.

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to God Never Changes

  1. Jane Reece says:

    Great thoughts. God is our only constant.

  2. I love that song Elaine!

  3. Sue Winner says:

    Thanks Elaine for this good reminder. I was thinking too how women are often characterized as needing a strong sense of security, while men tend to value significance. Could it be that the Lord wired us women that way so that we’ll find our security in Christ (and men their significance), and that security comes in the unchanging-ness (I think theologians have a fancier word like immutability) of our Heavenly Father? I don’t like change, and so I must always run and abide in, the Only One (or thing) that never changes? Hmmm.

Leave a Reply

