Encouragers Along the Way

“You can do it,” shouted a woman standing along the trail, “You’re awesome.”

 “Keep going; you’re doing great,” yelled a young man who stood directing us runners as to which way to go. He clapped his hands enthusiastically.

 All throughout the course which wound through two local parks and a neighborhood, there were volunteers whose job was to make sure the racers were following the trail. How wonderful it was that they also cheered and shouted words of encouragement.  

 When I was within a half mile of the finish line of the 5K race, these volunteers along the sidelines shouted, “You’re almost there. You can make it.”

 Then as I neared the finish line, I heard an announcer with a microphone shout out my number, “Here comes number 15. Look at that finish. Wow, you are still going strong. Finishing well is important.” This caused me to picked up my pace at the end, despite various pains in my body.

 I’ve run in other races over the years. But I’ve never run in a race where I received so much encouragement. It truly made a difference to hear those words urging me on and praising me for my efforts.

My goal was to run the entire course without stopping to walk. Even though I said over and over in my mind,

I can do all things through him who strengthens me, (Philippians 4:13 ESV)

hearing voices around me urging me on also helped me to persevere.

And I met my goal. I ran the entire race even keeping up with my daughter until we reached the two mile marker. I finished in a time that was below what I’ve ever done before.

Hearing those encouragers on race day reminded me of the encouragers in my life who urge me on in my Christian walk. They cheer me on just because I’m going in the right direction, and I’m running my race for the Lord.      

 Today I’m thanking God for those encouragers. This past weekend I spent time with one of my sisters in the Lord—Nancy–who is like that. I came away from time at her home feeling refreshed and revitalized–eager to continue to run the race the Lord has set before me.  

 How about you? Do you have encouragers in your life who cheer you on in your walk with the Lord. Thank them for all they do, and thank the Lord for putting them in strategic places along the course of the race that He’s mapped out for you.  

To hear more about the subject of “Encouragers” listen to my radio show, “Hearts Set Free with Elaine” on Saturday, April 20, 2013 at 8:00am. Listen on the radio at WTIS 1110 AM or go to www.wtis1110.com and press “Listen Live.” Or go to the archives to listen to that show and others.

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

