Seeking Him

Recently I met a man who seemed hungry for God. He spoke excitedly about verses he was reading in the Bible. We discussed troubles he had experienced because of bad choices. I felt happy that he saw his need of God. Often I feel sadness over people who see no need for the Lord and make minimal attempts to seek Him. Many I know and deeply love have their hearts set on self-sufficiency.

Even though this young man was seeking God, I saw he was holding back. Drugs and alcohol had done much damage in his life–prison time, problems in relationships, and mental health issues. I talked to him about a willingness to let go of alcohol and drugs. His response was, “Drugs, sure, but some alcohol won’t hurt.” There were other areas of his life where he didn’t seem to care about doing things God’s way. 

I’ve been in that place many times where I say I’m seeking God, but I don’t want to as gamblers say “go all in.” I want to stay in charge, and tell God how it’s going to be.” I can be seeking God, but I’m mostly seeking what I can get from Him–not what I can give to Him.

What He wants is all of me. And He wants me to know Him, love Him and serve Him. In genuine seeking, I need to set aside my wants and desires and ask, “God, what do You require and desire from me?”

Even though I received Christ as my Savior years ago after seeking answers for my life which led to Him, the seeking continues. Seeking God is something I will do for the rest of my life.   

As I face trials, I’ve discovered I can choose to be a seeker or a sulker. To sulk means “to be silent and bad-tempered out of annoyance or disappointment; to pout.” When I choose to sulk instead of seek I have an attitude of, “I don’t deserve this. This is so unfair. Why is this happening to me?” But what sets my heart right despite circumstances continuing to seem wrong is  seeking God and asking, “What do You have to say?” and “What do You want me to do?”   

I had the opportunity to pray with this “hungry” man I met recently. Part of the prayer was that he would continue to seek God and that he would invite Him into his heart and live for Him. He did not comprehend the concept of Jesus as Savior and letting Jesus live in him and through him, so I also prayed for understanding.   

After meeting this man, I looked in the Bible for the word “seek.” I saw that the verses where the word appeared, there was always a promise. Here is one “seek” promise that encourages me.

But without faith it is impossible to please Him, for he who comes to God must believe that He is, and that He is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him. Hebrews 11:6 NKJV

One way to make God happy is to seek Him wholeheartedly.   

What about you? Are you seeking God—as your Savior and/or to intervene in the trials of your life and get yourself right with Him? Seeking God with your whole heart leads to good for You and glory for Him.     

To hear more about Seeking In, tune in to my radio show “Hearts Set Free with Elaine” on Saturday, April 27, 2013 at 8:00am. Listen on the radio at AM1110 WTIS or go to www.wtis1110.com and press “Listen Live.” You can also listen to the show anytime in the archives by pressing shows, hearts set free and then going to the bottom right of my page and finding the show. God bless you and you seek Him.  

   

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Seeking Him

  1. Lynn says:

    Doing for God is the easy part, asking of Him is tough. I am a lucky woman, and sharing God’s work and message is grace for me.
    Thanks Elaine, I will pray for your seeking friend.

Leave a Reply

