The Mother Love of God

“I hate my mother,” the woman said angrily, “I wish she were dead.”

This is the response I got when I asked someone recently if she would be spending Mother’s Day with her mom. She told me of her mother’s controlling ways and other offenses that she saw as unforgivable.

“I don’t ever want to see her again,” she insisted.

Bitterness erupted not long ago from a man I know when the subject of mothers came up after he heard of the kindness of another mom.

“My mother would never have done that,” he said angrily. Even though his mother has been dead for a number of years, the pain of being rejected by her still cuts him like a knife.

My mother is generous and loving, even though I sometimes felt rejected because of having to compete with seven siblings for her attention in my growing-up years. We are close now and enjoy spending one-on-one time together.

And as I’ve been thinking of those who had mothers who hurt them deeply rather than cherishing them, what comes to mind is the mother love of God.  

Just as God’s father love can fill in all the gaps of the love our fathers tried to give but couldn’t or for those with absent fathers, so the mother love of God can heal those who did not receive nurturing from their mothers.

Scripture speaks of this kind of love. Here is one of many such verses:

 How precious is Your steadfast love, O God! The children of men take refuge and put their trust under the shadow of Your wings. Psalm 36:7

From a piece called “Under God’s Wings” written in 1912, J. R. Miller states about this verse: “Some of the most expressive illustrations of the divine love and care employed in the Bible are taken from the way of birds. For example, this beautiful figure of a bird sheltering her young under her wings, runs through all the Scriptures, as a picture of God’s sheltering love. This is such a tender picture. It is the mother bird that keeps her birds under her wings to protect them.”  

My heart goes out to those who are hungry for a mother’s love.  

One truth that I discovered along the way is that the reason our parent–whether mother or father– couldn’t love us is because they did not have their love needs met.

So as you are asking God to love you like a mother, pray your mother will  experience the same.  

Maybe your mother didn’t hold you as a child or speak tenderly to you. God will do that—even now.

Instead of spending all day on Mother’s Day mourning that your mother let you down or wouldn’t let you in, celebrate that we have a God who loves us as if He were our mother.

To hear more about the “Mother Love of God” listen to my radio show “Hearts Set Free with Elaine” at 8:00am on Saturday, May 11, 2013. Go to www.wtis1110.com and press “Listen Live.” Or you can press shows, scroll down to my show, go to my website and listen to the show on the archives.

 

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

