A Different Kind of Miracle

“That’s a great song,” I said to my 9-year-old granddaughter, Destiny.

We both clapped with enthusiasm after hearing, “I Need A Miracle.” I felt blessed to be with her, enjoying music by Third Day and Colton Dixon at a local church.

The Third Day lead singer, Mac Powell, who had written the song revealed that the drama within it was based on a true story. He shared with us that a couple came backstage at one of their concerts and told how their son was on his way to commit suicide. Before the end, he decided to listen to the radio. His search through the radio stations brought him to a Third Day song: “Cry Out To Jesus.”

Instead of choosing death, this man prayed to receive Jesus as His Savior and went on to serve the Lord.

What a miracle, I thought, that evening last month as I recalled miracles God had worked in my life—even saving me from deep depression and suicidal thoughts.

But then questions came to mind. What about the miracle my brother needed? Why wasn’t he saved from taking his life? What about his miracle?

God reassured me on the way home as Destiny and I talked about God’s perfect love and complete trustworthiness.

Years ago I read a book by Emilie Barnes called, A Different Kind of Miracle. It’s about the author’s battle with cancer.

Emilie preferred a quick healing of her cancer. Instead she took a rugged journey through it. Along the way she discovered a different kind of miracle—that of God’s presence, comfort and faithfulness.

The title of that book comes to mind often.

Today I’ve been thinking about those in the Bible who have different kinds of miracles–like Ruth and Naomi. The miracle each one of them likely desired was that their husbands would be healed. Instead both of their spouses died.

I’ve identified with Naomi, Ruth’s mother-in-law, who moved from saying,

“Call me Mara, because the Almighty has made my life very bitter” (Ruth 1:20)

to celebrating God’s faithfulness, provision, and completed plan for redemption. Interestingly, she was key in bringing the miracle to pass.

One thing I’ve learned about miracles is we can’t demand them. Although we want to name the exact miracle we desire, God often gives us a different miracle. If we remain devastated by not receiving our miracle, we may become blind to other miracles God is attempting to lavish on us.

One of my greatest “different miracles” is the peace He gives during hard times when it seems even taking the next breath should be impossible. And yet He holds me up.  

One of those “different kinds of miracles” I’ve experienced when my prayer for what I see as “the big miracle” hasn’t been answered is the miracle of God taking my cold, dark heart and making it more like His.

I think of my marriage and the difficulties Steve and I have been through—or rather God has carried us through. Instead of God healing everything in me and my husband, the different kind of miracle He gives us is the grace to love each other even so and even though. Unresolved issues still plague our marriage, but God binds us together in His love. That’s a miracle.

With all my heart, I want to embrace the challenge of keeping my eyes open to see other miracles I may be missing because I fall into believing God has withheld a miracle from me. I trust God and thank Him for giving me the miracles that are just right for me.

To hear more about A Different Kind of Miracle listen to my radio show, “Hearts Set Free with Elaine” on Saturday, June 8, 2013 at 8:00am EST. Go to www.wtis1110.com and press “Listen Live.” Or you can listen anytime by going to the archives for the show.

 

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Different Kind of Miracle

  1. Julie says:

    Thanks for the encouraging words I needed to hear.

Leave a Reply

