Captured by the Culture

“I really want a bikini,” my 9-year-old granddaughter said.

We were out shopping with a relative who was getting one. Because of this, it seemed so important to Destiny to have one as well.

“I really want a bikini,” she repeated again and again pointing to skimpy examples on the racks.

Then she moved to “It’s not fair” when I said, “I’m not buying you one.” 

We talked about why she thought she wanted one, and how if she was God’s girl, having people notice her large amounts of bare skin could get in the way of having them be aware of her faith in Jesus.

By the end of our shopping trip she had changed her mind and said, “The next new bathing suit I get is going to cover up my belly.

I couldn’t help but think back to when I was a young person—not nine, but in my teen years—and having a similar conversation with my mother.

After many insistent “I’ve just got to have a bikini,” conversations, she gave in.

As I look back, I’m sad about that fact.

I was captured by the culture—by what others were wearing—and I wanted to fit in. Modesty seemed less important than feeling modern and with it.  

When I think of the young people I know who strayed from the Lord after spending all of their growing-up years in church, being captured by the culture seems to be one reason they give up on walking with the Lord.

What’s going on in the world can seem exciting. Many young people have said to me, “Church is so boring.” I tell them, “It may be, but I can tell you this. God is not boring. Jesus was certainly not boring when He was living on this earth. “

Even we adult Christians can be captured by the culture and drawn into embracing the standards of those who don’t know the Lord and abandoning the standards presented in the Word. God reminds me:

Do not love or cherish the world or the things that are in the world. If anyone loves the world, love for the Father is not in him. 1 John 2:15

Recently I was drawn back into the world of secular music. I liked some of the catchy songs I heard, and instead of working on my songwriting, practicing my guitar or listening to music that honors God, I found myself spending way too much time searching on Youtube and listening to many songs by various secular artists.  

The trap is not that I was “doing a worldly thing,” but that it was drawing me away from godly pursuits that were before me. If a Christian stays on that course, he/she can soon discover there’s no room for God, the Bible, attending church or answering God’s call on our lives.

This is the choice that lies before me on a daily basis: to be set apart or drawn away.

To hear more about Captured by the Culture, listen to radio show, “Hearts Set Free with Elaine” on Saturday, June 15 2013 at 8:00am EST. Go to www.wtis1110.com and press “Listen Live.” Or you can listen later at my radio websites archives.

 

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Captured by the Culture

  1. Jane Reece says:

    As Christians, we are to be both salt and light. Thanks for shaking some salt. Inspiring!

  2. Karen Schmidt says:

    We need to constantly be checking our choices, wants and needs with the simple question to ourselves, “why?” Why do I want that or why do I need this? It is such a subtle thing for the “culture” around us to “seep in” and permeate our thoughts without us being aware of it!!! We need to do this often to avoid being “captured”……even as adults!!! 😉

Leave a Reply

