Dealing with Rejection God’s Way

The Lord has brought me far in being set free after being rejected in many ways over the years. I thought I was done with being so affected by rejection, but I confess that lately I gave in to fear, depression, doubt and unbelief because of it.

Here are reminders the Lord has whispered as He brings healing to my wounded heart.  

–Expect to be rejected.  Often we pray that we want to be like Jesus.  This is what the Word says about Him: 

He was despised and rejected by mankind, a man of suffering, and familiar with pain. Like one from whom people hide their faces he was despised, and we held him in low esteem. Isaiah 53:3 NIV

When I talked to a counselor about how the one who rejected me turned things around and was calling evil good and me evil for wanting God’s good to prevail, she reminded me that is what put Jesus on the cross. He was all-good, and He was seen as evil. I was sharing in Christ’s suffering.

God is not rejecting me just because my loved one has. One of Satan’s favorite lies is that because my loved one is rejecting me, so is God. I hate that I’ve fallen for it too many times and entertained it lately. The truth is God loves me no matter how people treat me.  

Returning rejection for rejection only makes matters worse. Why is it we humans think that retaliation will somehow make things right? I don’t plan on returning evil for evil, but it happens. A little nasty verbal jab here, and another one there is how it begins.

God will show me how to respond to rejection in a godly way.  I confess when God recently gave me instructions such as “Be silent” and “keep your eyes on Me,” I did the opposite.  My goal was to get the person to repent. I used my words instead of His. When I did, the individual justified their mistreatment of me which caused me to feel even more rejected. For a time I kept my eyes on the rejection and not on the Lord, which brought me down into the pit. God is showing me how to let mercy and grace lead the way.  

God can and will heal the hurts I suffer due to rejection. I confess that lately I looked to the one who hurt and rejected me to repair my broken heart. I’ve done the same in the past. That is not God’s way. The other person cannot heal me. The reason this individual is rejecting me in the first place is that hurt people hurt people. It’s imperative that I look to God for restoration. Here is what Beth Moore says about this: “ the rejected person who turns entirely to God and His Word can find glorious restoration and acceptance in Christ no matter what happens.” From Praying God’s Word. 

The important thing is to keep rejection in perspective. On this earth, I will experience rejection again and again. But as I keep my eyes on the Lord and do what He says, I will bring Him glory even when it feels like my earthly relationships are falling apart.

I praise God that He is once again restoring my relationship with the one who rejected me.   

I hold to this promise:

For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. 2 Corinthians 4:17 NIV

Today I’m celebrating God’s faithfulness in bringing me through every rejection in my life and keeping me vitally connected to Him. Oh how He loves me—and you.  

To hear more about dealing with rejection, listen to my radio show, “Hearts Set Free with Elaine” on Saturday, June 29, 2013 at 8:00am EST. Go to www.wtis1110.com and press “Listen Live.” Or listen later by going to the show’s archives on my WTIS website. Go to www.wtis1110.com, click on shows, scroll down to Hearts Set Free and click. The archives are on the bottom right of my website.

 

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dealing with Rejection God’s Way

  1. Cloe Dance says:

    Good thoughts, Elaine.. You are special…

Leave a Reply

