Finding God’s Will

As I have been facing a difficult challenge lately, I find myself crying out to God, “What should I do?” Which way to go seems unclear.  I want to do what’s right, but every choice seems to have its drawbacks.

Slipping into negative emotions and negative thinking makes things even murkier.

“Please show me Your will and Your way,” I have prayed.

What God has done is to reveal to me the next step to take. He doesn’t show me the complete picture of where He’s leading me and how He will bring me to the other side.

The key is to believe He will show me His will, and He will carry me through this just as He has brought me through every other trial in my life.

Discovering God’s will is tied in to being still. The Word says,

“Be still and know that I am God” Psalm 46:10 ESV.

When I forget that He is God or fail to act that way, I try to plow ahead doing whatever comes to mind. That makes matters worse.

 When I embrace fully what my Sunday School teacher has been repeating lately, “He is God, and I am not,” I can trust Him to lead me.  

When going through hard times, being still before the Lord to discover His will can seem impossible. It’s especially challenging when the enemy is bombarding my mind with thoughts that bring on moments or multiple moments of doubt, fear, and unbelief.

One of the reasons it can be rough discovering God’s will in difficult times is that I ask myself, “How can this thing that’s happening to me possibly be God’s will?” and “How can a loving God allow this?”

The faith side of me says, “God does allow bad things, but He brings good out of them—if I submit to Him and trust Him with the outcome.”

I confess that too often I try to stay in control and straighten out a difficult situation or a heart-tearing relationship conflict on my own. That doesn’t work.

I notice when I try to do it on my own, love does not lead the way.

One thing I’ve become ever more certain of is this: “Love is always God’s will and God’s way.”  If I’m unwilling to love, this shows that I have not been fully set free. I’m moving back into bondage.

When I love even though others have hurt me, God is present and working. The other person may not change in every way I desire, but God changes my heart to become more like His. That’s what trials are for—to transform me into the image of Christ.  

Changing me is God’s will.

As  I’ve been submitting to Him with an attitude of, “Lord, do what You need to do in me to make me more like You,” the hardness in my heart is melting away. I’m embracing what Jesus said,

“Not my will, but Yours be done.”  Luke 22:42 ESV 

There is great joy in discovering God’s will. There is even greater joy when I’m willing to embrace it and live it. I’m excited to see what God has in store in the days, weeks, and months ahead. He is so good.

To hear more about “Finding God’s Will” listen to my radio show “Hearts Set Free with Elaine” on Saturday, July 13, 2013 at 8:00am EST. Go to www.wtis1110.com and press “Listen Live.”  

 

 

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Finding God’s Will

  1. Diane Ward says:

    Thanks for sharing your insight and honesty when we are faced with a difficult situation. God does bring good out of bad situations but we must have faith and wait on the Lord. I have looked back on so many trials that seemed utterly hopeless and can now look back with gratitude to God how he solved the problem in a way I never even thought possible. Truly with God all things are possible. Thanks for your inspiring article.

  2. Lynn Wesolek says:

    “…..but God changes my heart to become more like His”. Yes, soften my heart. This rings so true for me, as does all of the above, but mostly this. Thank you, Elaine!

  3. Erin Pascal says:

    This is amazing! Thank you so much for sharing this. Never lose hope and never lose faith. Be strong for God is always with us. You are such an inspiration. May God bless you!

  4. Elaine, thanks for sharing so honestly the depth of your pain. It inspires me to do the same when I am facing difficulties. In small ways lately God has shown me that I am doing what I am supposed to be doing. I know that he cares about these small things, as well as the big decisions like what you are facing. I pray that you continue to seek God’s leading and that it becomes very clear the path you should follow. God does not cause suffering, but we can know he “has our back.” He loves you so much, and he is there for you.

Leave a Reply

