Winning the Battle

Not long ago I fought a fierce battle with the enemy. He was busy with what he’s usually up to trying to steal, kill, and destroy when it came to my relationships.

As I reflected on the battle, I learned where I went wrong and what to do next time. Here are some errors I made:

–I believed the enemy’s lies.

–I tried to come against his attacks with my own words instead of with God’s Word.

–I let my mind and emotions dictate my actions.

–I didn’t follow God’s instructions.

–I leaned on my own understanding.

Here are the right things to do in a battle with the enemy.  Eventually I did these and peace once again reigned in my heart.

–Ask God what to do and do it. Doing our own thing in a battle leads only to trouble. God gave me specific guidance in this battle.  It was “Be quiet, and keep your focus on Me.” Instead I talked too much which only made matters worse. And I kept my focus on the problem rather than on the Lord.

–Answer the enemy’s lies with truth from God’s Word. That’s what Jesus did when He battled the enemy in the wilderness.   (See Matthew 4:1-11)

–Remember the battle is the Lord’s.  He promises this in Scripture.  David said this to the Philistines when he was in battle with them.

… For the battle is the Lord’s, and he will give you into our hand.” 1 Samuel 17:47 ESV

Remember God is on your side.  He is for you, with you, and His love does not change. The enemy will work hard to convince us of just the opposite.

–Lean on the Lord instead of your understanding. This comes through spending time in the Word and in prayer.  Realize it’s OK not to understand, so avoid demanding it. That’s pride, and pride puts us on the enemy’s side.

Praise God before you see the victory.  At times it can even seem that praise brings the victory.

–Take every thought captive.

We destroy arguments and every lofty opinion raised against the knowledge of God, and take every thought captive to obey Christ. 2 Corinthians 10:5 

I was thinking recently about why the verse doesn’t say to take every thought and emotion captive. It seems our negative thinking is what leads to negative emotions. If we deal with our thoughts, our emotions will fall in line.

The bottom line is to desire God’s will above all—like Jesus did when He was battling in the garden before the crucifixion. The reason He won that battle is that His heart was set on this:

…not my will, but yours be done (Luke 22:42)   

Applying these strategies in marriage can make a world of difference. We must remember that the battles are with the enemy even though we think they are with our spouse.

Remember you win when you stay married and continue to love. Some people think they are victorious when they divorce or retaliate with anger and bitterness because they forget who the battle is against. Satan wants to steal, kill, and destroy when it comes to marriages.

In my case, when the battles are in my marriage, the enemy wants to steal my joy—my joy in the Lord, and my joy in marriage. He wants to kill my faith in God intervening in our marriage and my faith that our union will last forever. He wants to destroy my relationship with my spouse and with God. He wants to break any solid connections I have with either.  

The good news is that even though the enemy comes to kill, steal, and destroy, this is what Jesus promises in John 10:10

I came that they may have life and have it abundantly.

If we cling to Jesus, we will always have the victory. 

But thanks be to God, who gives us the victory (making us conquerors) through our Lord Jesus Christ (1 Corinthians 15:57 AMP). 

If we hold on–to the Lord–that puts us on the winning side. Praise God.

Here is a link to a song that lifts my spirits and reminds me of the victory we have in Christ–that we cannot lose. Enjoy, and do sing along. There is even a little “singing lesson.”  The song is called “Winna Mon” (Winner Man) sung by Ron Kenoly.  

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gvbqL2Wfkeo  

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Winning the Battle

  1. Elaine, I so agree with what you said, “If we deal with our thoughts, our emotions will fall in line.” This is a prayer that has helped me with that… “May the Spirit of Christ Who dwells in the innermost part of me, take authority over my soul (the seat of my emotions) and my body (my fleshly desires and appetites)” from these scriptures: I Thessalonians 5:23-24—May God himself, the God of peace, sanctify you through and through. May your whole spirit, soul and body be kept blameless at the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ. The one who calls you is faithful and he will do it. I Corinthians 6:17—But he who unites himself with the Lord is one with him in spirit. I Corinthians 3:16—Don’t you know that you yourselves are God’s temple and that God’s Spirit lives in you.’ I wrote about this in this blog post… http://bethwillismiller.blogspot.com/2010/02/this-is-my-challenge-to-let-healthy.html

Leave a Reply

