Remembering Who God Is

Recently I went through a difficult time where it felt my faith was being tested and even shaken.

Since then, I’ve been reflecting on how the enemy engages me in battle and wants me to use his strategies to deal with conflicts. Doing so only makes matters worse and causes him to succeed in his desires to kill, steal, and destroy in my relationships.

Lately God has been reminding me of ways to handle difficult times with His strategies. This leads to my growing in faith and becoming more like Him.

This week God has been whispering to my soul: “Remember who I am.” The enemy wants me to forget who my Lord is and how powerful, loving, and ever-present He is in my life.

As I embrace who He truly is rather than slipping back into believing the lies I hear about Him from the enemy or from those who don’t know Him or are against Him, I have confidence to face anything this world brings my way. As I call on the names of God and remind the enemy who He is rather than cowering, I’m growing in strength.

In Ava Pennington’s book, One Year Alone With God 366 Devotions on the Names of God, she has a devotion for each day of the year that centers on the names of God and/or His attributes. I highly recommend this book to build or rebuild that strong sense of who God is.  

Here is some of what she says about the name El Shaddai—God Almighty, All-sufficient God:

“…By El Shaddai’s power and sufficiency, Sarai, now ‘Sarah’ (Gen. 17:15) bore a son. Almighty God did not need Abraham’s help to fulfill His word then, and He does not need our help to fulfill it today. 

El Shaddai, I confess my lack of trust in Your sufficiency in difficult circumstances.

In what situation is El Shaddai calling me to wait on Him for the solution to my problem?”  

During hard times, the Lord of hosts is another one of my favorite names for God.

One author says of The Lord of Hosts: “This is a title that emphasizes God’s rule over every other power in the material and spiritual universe. The term ‘Lord of Hosts’ is used 282 times in the Bible. It is a military term meaning ‘God of Battles.’”

In 1 Samuel 17:45 David says to Goliath:

You come to me with a sword, with a spear, and with a javelin. But I come to you in the name of the Lord of hosts, the God of the armies of Israel, whom you have defied.

I do have giants in my life—larger-than-life problems looming before me. I look at them and they seem enormous and ugly, and I feel small– even puny–in comparison. In reality they are impossible to deal with by myself, but with the Lord of hosts, I can defeat them.  As I call on my God–the Lord of Hosts–He will win more battles for me.

When one of my daughters was a rebellious teen, I called on God as the Lord of hosts. Oh, the miracles He brought and continues to bring into her life and in our relationship.

This week and in the weeks, months and even years ahead, I want to remember who God is and call on Him specifically by the many names listed in Scripture as I face each new challenge of my life. It seems God loves when I do that.

Lord, remind me again and again to remember who You are and to call upon You.

 

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Remembering Who God Is

  1. Elaine, i, too, love Ava’s book, i met her at the Fla. Christian Writer’s Conference … she has just released this book under a new title as an e-book and next month as a softcover book… http://avawrites.com/books/daily-reflections-on-the-names-of-god/… I rest in the name Emmanuel–God with us…

  2. Jane Reece says:

    Thanks, Elaine. Am facing a battle and this blog strengthens me.

Leave a Reply

